Indie Post- Notoriously Morbid

Okay, I’m going to get this out of the way. I have been trying to write this review since Sunday, but every time I got distracted listening to Duran Duran. Here you go.

You jammed along? Good. Let’s get started on this review.

Notoriously Morbid is a relatively new cosmetics company- if I am correct, which I usually am, they started up sometime last year. They came onto my radar because every day is Halloween, and I am still a sucker for things that embrace this. They do have a blogger package, which is what I ordered, since I am a big-name super famous blogger. One of the reasons I ordered it was that, unlike a lot of blog packages, it included a full-size shadow. I requested that mine be red, not expecting much of it, since I am still on a huge red eyeshadow kick.

The package I got!

The package I got!

The package arrived surprisingly quickly, and was wrapped in pretty mint tissue paper with a note.

Either this company has super good customer service or the fact that I ordered a blogger package means they know who to kiss up to.

Either this company has super good customer service or the fact that I ordered a blogger package means they know who to kiss up to.

So not only did I get two new reds to play with, I got two free samples. Inside the tissue, everything was in separate ziploc baggies, none of which even came close to leaking. (One of the ziploc baggies replaced the now-disintegrated BFTE envelope as my makeup bag sample storage.) The full-sized shadow had a shrink band around it, and a sifter included.

My little haul! Full-sized Crimson Horror, clamshells of 13 Rainbows and Goodbye, Sweetie, and baggies of Lunatic Shrilling, Big Bird Must Die!, Zombie Stripper, Dita, and Kilgharrah.

My little haul! Full-sized Crimson Horror, clamshells of 13 Black Rainbows and Goodbye, Sweetie, and baggies of Lunatic Shrilling, Big Bird Must Die!, Zombie Stripper, Dita, and Kilgharrah.

Interestingly enough, the two free samples were in clamshells, and the rest in baggies. I’m cool with both, but I found it kinda neat. The labels include a full ingredient list for every shadow, and do talk about whether it is lip-safe, which is handy if you don’t want to go down to the website.

Dots are with Pixie Epoxy, and the white stripe is NYX Milk.

Dots are with Pixie Epoxy, and the white stripe is NYX Milk.

Here come the swatches!

Goodbye Sweetie to Stripper Zombie

Goodbye Sweetie to Stripper Zombie

Goodbye, Sweetie– Finally, back to pop culture references I vaguely recognize! I haven’t watched much Doctor Who since Ten left, since Donna was the best companion and whatnot, but I’m not totally out of the loop. Goodbye Sweetie is a sheerish white, with silvery and gold sparkles. It’s a nice colour- not my personal favourite, but I can easily put it to use.

Crimson HorrorMy full-size red. This is also a Doctor Who reference, although not one I got. It’s a Crayola brick red, with a noticeable orange shimmer. I’m pretty happy that I got the full size of this, since it’s a very pretty colour, and I fully intend to regularly use it as a crease colour.

Big Bird Must Die! Now, I have trouble supporting anything that advocates for the death of Muppets. That said, this is a nice colour. It’s a goldenrod yellow, which appears almost orange under a certain light. As long as you promise to leave Oscar alone, we’re cool, Notoriously Morbid. You get one.

Stripper Zombie to Dita

Stripper Zombie to Dita

Stripper Zombie-  I doubt this is a reference to the movie Zombie Strippers, the best movie to ever star Jenna Jameson and Robert Englund, but a girl can dream. This is a Granny Smith green with an almost overwhelming gold sheen on there.

Kilgharrah- Oh, hell. I thought it would never happen. It appears I’ve fallen madly in love… with a taupe. Admittedly, I looked it up, and this taupe appears to be named after a dragon voiced by John Hurt. so it was probably that and the incredible green duochrome that did it. This is one I simply must have a full size of.

Lunatic Shrilling- No reference here. This is a wisteria with the slightest touch of coppery shimmer.

Lunatic Shrilling to 13 Rainbows

Lunatic Shrilling to 13 Black Rainbows

Dita- named after Dita Von Teese, of course. I was worried that the two reds might be too similar, but this is less of a firm “red” red, and more of a colour I could only describe as “sparkling raspberry wine.” Fortunately, sparkling raspberry wine is actually quite nice, and so is this eyeshadow. I’m considering a full-size at some point, even though it might be overkill with Crimson Horror.

13 Black Rainbows– I have conveniently referred to this as 13 Rainbows in all the swatch labels because I am a silly duck. This may also be a ploy to distract people while I buy it up because this stuff is beautiful.  I know “black with coloured sparkles in” is a popular thing in the beauty world, but this is the actual best. It’s just full of rainbow glitter- I did my best to photograph it, but the colours are always shifting and moving around and it’s just wizardry. This is my favourite and I will buy the full size even if I have to trade someone’s kidney.

Super attractive FOTD with Big Bird Must Die! and Lunatic Shrilling.

Super attractive FOTD with Big Bird Must Die! and Lunatic Shrilling.

Overall Impressions

Packaging- 10/10.
Nothing leaked, everything was all packed up nice and pretty. I do like the shadow being secured by shrink bands.

Texture- 7/10.There was some pretty severe fallout, especially with the glittery shades, and I found Goodbye, Sweetie kind of hard to apply. That said, there were no major issues.

Pigmentation- 9/10.Goodbye Sweetie was the only one I found to be lacking. I was pretty impressed.

Colour Selection- 9/10.There’s a good selection in the store. Including an eyeshadow named after Donna. I may be getting that one, too.

Seller Communication- 9/10.Not only was there free stuff, the seller took my preferences into account, not only for the full-sized shadow, but the samples as well. I like that.

Overall- 44/50.

I was quite impressed with Notoriously Morbid. I may or may not be ordering again right now. (There’s a huge sale going on as I post this.) Good job! 🙂

Up next- Kimberly Noel Cosmetics!

Also notable- I’m taking part in a 30 days of makeup thing. That’s right, selfies EVERY DAY. If you want to see more of my face and also other stuff I guess, check out my Instagram here.

Leave a Reply

