Indie Post- Sugarpill’s Cold Chemistry Palette

As some of you may have guessed, I like me some bright colours. And if you’re vaguely familiar with the indie cosmetics scene, you probably have heard that Sugarpill is a brand that is very, very good at bright colours. I didn’t make an order immediately upon visiting the site because, unlike most indie companies, there are no samples, and their eyeshadows, at $12.00 apiece, are a tad bit too spendy for me to order without really knowing about the quality beforehand. However, recently, they had a little mini-sale, which was motivation enough for me to get one of their palettes.

The package contents

The package contents. That is the palette sleeve and the palette itself- I did not order two Cold Chemistry palettes.

The sale was on the Cold Chemistry and the Burning Heart palettes, and while it was a tough choice, I ended up opting for Cold Chemistry, just because winter is coming and I really have enough red eyeshadows, I suppose.

Everything upside down.

Everything upside down.

In the package was the palette, a Sugarpill sticker for use on a bumper or laptop or something, a sample of their loose pigment in Goldilux, and a little card advertising their Cold Chemistry and Elektro Cute stuff.I have not yet found a home for the sticker.

 

Cold Chemistry

Cold Chemistry

Cold Chemistry is Sugarpill’s collaboration with Amelia Arsenic, who is that nice lady on the back of the palette sleeve. I don’t really know who she is, but she looks kind of cool. I’d say I’d get a beer with her, but she seems like the type to insist on absinthe instead, and, as faithful readers and weird stalkers know, I can’t abide the taste of licorice.

Inside the palette.

Inside the palette.

The collection consists of a grayish-looking thing, a white, a purple, and a green, which are all nice jewel-tones for winter. It is kind of notable that the eyeshadows in this palette are humongous. They’re each 3.5 grams, which is also how big a regular full-size shadow is. For comparison, each eyeshadow in most Urban Decay palettes is about 0.8 grams, and I’ve been using my Deluxe palette for a while and not made a significant dent in it. While I was originally rather nervous at spending 34 dollars plus shipping on one palette, it’s a lot better of a deal when you realize that this palette will probably last me until I die. My main complaint is that the mirror, while a cool shape, is slightly useless for things like checking whether or not your eyes are even. The huge mirrors on the other palettes seem a lot better for that, but this one is a weird narrower shape.

Goldilux sample!

Goldilux sample!

Sugarpill may have hacked my computer, since I’m not sure how else they would have known how long I was contemplating this. On one hand, I’ve heard such wonderful things about it, but on the other, it wasn’t on sale, and do I really need another gold glittery eyeshadow? So I am very glad they sent me this samples. The sample is in a ziploc baggie, with this cardboard thing stapled over it. It’s very cute, although rather vexing when you remove the cardboard and realize there’s no hint as to what the eyeshadow actually is on the baggie.

Swatches, finally. Top stripe Pixie Epoxy, middle NYX Milk, bottom primer.

Swatches, finally. Top stripe Pixie Epoxy, middle NYX Milk, bottom primer.

Soot And Stars is described on the website as a “metallic gunmetal with prismatic sparkle.” I would describe it as a charcoal with very slightly rainbow-y sparkles. It’s an interesting shade, and probably fills a void in my collection of glittery blacks somewhere.

Diamond Eyes is the closest to a disappointment I have in this palette. It’s a frosty white with a slightly pink sheen. It isn’t quite as intensely pigmented as it looks on the website- it’s nice, but not really a colour I would tend towards.

Elemental Chaos is a blue-toned metallic purple. I have a lot of purple eyeshadows, but none like this, which is kind of interesting.

Subterranean is a beautiful metallic forest green that I am kind of in love with.

I need a full-size of Goldilux, like, now. It looks like someone brushed gold leaf over my skin, which is exactly what I want from life. I’ll be keeping an eye out for the Black Friday sale so I can pick it up.

Blending swatches.

Blending swatches.

Sugarpill’s shadows have also gotten a reputation as being uniquely blendable. Here’s a little Punnett square I did with both of the colours over Diamond Eyes and Soot and Stars. This is one swipe of each colour over bare skin to create a whole new colour. I’m pretty impressed. Diamond Eyes sort of transforms here from a vaguely unusable frosty white to a handy supply for making grayed out colours.

Subterranean and Soot And Stars on a vaguely human-looking eye.

Subterranean and Soot And Stars on a vaguely human-looking eye.

So, would I recommend this palette? Absolutely. Even if you are just in love with three of the colours, you are still getting a better deal by ordering the palette than you would buying the three shadows. Plus it is worth playing around with the shadows to figure out what you can make from them.

Next review will be Fierce Magenta, and I have another post in the works right now.

Leave a Reply

