Smashbox Wondervision Eye Set in Cosmic

Look at me, owning makeup that people can buy in person at a store. I’m almost like a real person.

Yesterday was my birthday, and a friend of mine picked this up for me. It was recommended by the lady at the drug store when he told her that I don’t wear blush or bronzer and I really like blue lipstick, which is sort of all you need to know about me in general.

Pretty shiny box!

Pretty shiny box!

The Wondervision Eye Sets are new releases for Christmas this year. They come in three colour schemes- Cosmic, which has cool tones, and two sets of what look like pinky browns called Sparks and Flash. The set is packaged in a metallic box with a sort of kaleidoscope pattern on it, which I am probably going to keep forever.

The contents!

The contents!

Inside the box is a Limitless eyeliner in black, a Full Exposure mascara in jet black, an eyeshadow compact, and three get-the-look cards. Everything is wrapped in black tissue paper, which I think is cuter than the cardboard or styrofoam cutouts you often see in sets like these. The set costs 32 dollars on the Smashbox website, and 38 on the Canadian Sephora website. Considering that it includes a full-size eyeliner and mascara, which are a bit less than twenty bucks each on the Smashbox website and a bit more on Canadian Sephora, it’s a pretty good deal. It is also notable that the compact looks like something I would use if I was pretending to be a Sailor Scout, which is a plus in my book.

Swatches! Pixie Epoxy on the left, NYX Milk in the middle, regular old primer on the right.

Swatches! Pixie Epoxy on the left, NYX Milk in the middle, regular old primer on the right.

I personally found these pretty easy to work with. The mattes seemed a tad bit powdery, but that might be because I don’t really have pressed matte eyeshadows.

Sandstone is a matte “Bobbie’s skin” shade. It is more pigmented than it looks, because it is a thing I could probably use as foundation. Silver is a shimmery champagne shade with a bunch of glitter in there. Luster is a matte brown, which is kind of opposite to what I think of when I hear the word “luster,” but I suppose naming an eyeshadow “Seriously, Bobbie, you should probably wear some brown eyeshadow that doesn’t have a green duochrome” would be bad for business and wouldn’t fit on the cards as easily. Aqua is a strong, metallic turquoise, and is really a cool colour. Smoke is a deep browny-gray matte, and Sapphire is an almost-black navy with little blue twinkles in there.

Onyx is a black pencil eyeliner. At first I thought “oh, wow, a black pencil eyeliner, that is a thing i need in my life” all sarcastically, but then I swatched it. Oh my goodness. It’s so soft and creamy and a very happy texture. I realize that I might just be used to really cheap pencils from Essence and the dollar store and Chinese eBay sellers that sell two for a dollar, but this is an outstanding eyeliner and I don’t know if I can go back.

My eyelashes without mascara. The flaky bits are eyeliner left over from washing my face five times. In other news, GOSH liquid eyeliner will actually never come off your face.

My eyelashes without mascara. The flaky bits are eyeliner left over from washing my face five times. In other news, GOSH liquid eyeliner will actually never come off your face.

I feel rather unqualified to be reviewing mascara, since mascara is a very personal experience. As well, I naturally have really dark, long, full eyelashes, so whatever benefits you are looking for in your mascara, I might already be getting them from nature. Plus I’ve only tried five or so, and I tend to choose mascara based solely on whether it is on sale, what the tube looks like, and whether the name is sufficiently ridiculous. (I’m looking at you, Scandaleyes. Also you, Volumexpress The Falsies Flared.) Full Exposure is, comparatively, not very ridiculous of a name, but seeing as I am growing up, that might be a good thing.

The mascara brush.

The mascara brush.

The brush is a pretty standard spoolie, which I sort of like after my drugstore mascaras with weird plastic brush shapes all over the place.

My eyes with mascara.

My eyes with mascara. Again, the flakes are eyeliner and not caused by the mascara.

I think I like this mascara. It doesn’t get all clumpy, and dries very quickly, which is good if you blink all the time like me. It lengthens a bit, I think, but not so much that it hits my glasses all the time, which I appreciate. I imagine you could build it up more, though.

Colour Diffusion Get The Look card.

Colour Diffusion Get The Look card.

Interestingly enough, the Get The Look cards don’t tell me to use eyeliner or mascara, so I didn’t when I tried to recreate them. They know full well whoever buys this set has an eyeliner. I accidentally used Sandstone instead of Luster for this one, but I still think it’s a pretty nice look that is not my standard “put bright colours all over everything” go-to.

This is actually something that I could easily wear with a blue lipstick if I was going for a classier, more elegant blue-lipped look. You could also wear lipstick that is not blue for some reason.

Wondervision Hues Get The Look card.

Wondervision Hues Get The Look card.

This is a nice minimal look for when you want to look like you’re not wearing makeup at all. I don’t generally try to lie with my eyes, but I might give it a shot someday and really startle everyone I know.

Drop Shadow Get The Look card.

Drop Shadow Get The Look card.

And here is the one I wore out of the house. Of course. This is a cool sort of dramatic look for a night out or just wearing around if you’re me. I put eyeliner on it, just because that’s important to me. Wear time was pretty good- the mascara and eyeliner didn’t smudge or flake or anything even through drinking many glasses of wine with my mother, so that was good.

Overall, I was pretty impressed with this set. While the colours weren’t that kooky, sometimes that’s okay, plus it means I can probably do no-makeup-makeup now, which is a handy tool to have in my arsenal. Plus it included a nice mascara and a world-changing pencil eyeliner, so I’d probably be really happy even if I paid for it. Good job, lady at the cosmetics counter. You know me well.

 

5 thoughts on “Smashbox Wondervision Eye Set in Cosmic

Leave a Reply

