Dreamworld Hermetica – Lip Twists

Dreamworld Hermetica sent me these products free for review after seeing my previous post on their products. This is irrelevant to the review itself, I just wanted to brag about how I’ve finally made it big.

The freebie package!

The freebie package!

Dreamworld has these new products called Lip Twists that seem to be sort of like pigmented lip balms. I also got one of the Ectoplasmic Lips glosses (currently unavailable on the site) and four eyeshadows with a new formula she’s been trying out.

Everything open.

Everything open.

The lip twists are in little lip balm tubes. The eyeshadows appear to be the mini size, and the lip gloss is in a squeeze tube with a slanted tip.

Eyeshadow swatches- Pixie Epoxy on left, NYX Milk in the middle, regular primer on the right. Please ignore the mess in my house, this was the only place I could get the colours right.

Eyeshadow swatches- Pixie Epoxy on left, NYX Milk in the middle, regular primer on the right. Please ignore the mess in my house, this was the only place I could get the colours close to looking right.

I’m not sure as to when these colours will be available for sale. Hopefully soon, as they are all stunning. The new formula actually looks about the same over every primer I used, which is a pretty good thing for me since it means I can save my Pixie Epoxy.

Grendel’s Mother is a bright fuchsia with a slight blue duochrome. It is actually the exact same colour as the NYX round case lipstick in Shiva, which I think is a really neat coincidence.

Mistletoe is a light white-gold colour. It catches the light so beautifully in person and just lights everything up. It’s sort of one you have to see in person to really appreciate, unfortunately.

Windsong is a pinkish red with a lot of whitish shimmer. It looks a lot more subtle than brighter reds, which is a good thing for me because I need to do subtle more often.

Sonnet is a very light pink with a gold duochrome. Not only does it work really well with every other colour she sent me, it’s one of those eyeshadows that I can wear as the only colour on my eyes without feeling unfinished.

Windsong and Mistletoe on my eye.

Windsong and Mistletoe on my eye.

The new formula is a bit creamier than the old one. While it’s less creamy than Oslo’s, that might well be a good thing, since these shadows stay put a lot better with the same primer.

All the lip twist swatches are done with a quick pass over the lips. They can all be built up to full opacity quite easily.

Andoria Lip Twist

Andoria Lip Twist

Andoria is a metallic turquoise. While it does go on a bit patchy at first, it is a remarkable colour, and holds out through eating waffles, which is really what I want in a lip colour. It does leave a bit of a grayish tint on my lips after I remove it, but that’s not a huge deal.

Demonia on my face.

Demonia on my face.

Demonia is a beautiful brick red. It is by far the softest of the bunch that I got, and I have had a bit of trouble getting it back into the tube, though. I’ve been chatting with the owner about it, and she’s mentioned the possibility of offering the lip twists in pots- if that becomes an option, go for the pot for this one. The others had a slight issue with consistency, but I can manage most of them. It’s a super nice colour, and faded evenly all day.

Plot on my lips.

Plot on my lips.

Plot is a metallic light bronze. It kind of makes me look dead, but that is the fault of my pastiness, and not the lipstick. It lasted through two cups of tea before needing reapplication.

Summer Moon on my lips.

Summer Moon on my lips.

Summer Moon is a semi-matte orange. It starts off as a coral, but can easily be built up to a lovely clownfish orange colour if that’s what you want from life.

Venura on my face.

Venura on my face.

Venura is a semi-matte berry shade that leans purple. It lasted through a party my sister attended.

Crimson Moon on my lips.

Crimson Moon on my lips.

Crimson Moon is a deep chocolate brown gloss. I had a bit of trouble with application, but I think this might be because I actually never use lip gloss and have some problems. It didn’t last as long as the lip twists, but it didn’t fade obnoxiously fast, as is often my worry with tinted glosses.

Overall, I would probably still be satisfied with this stuff if I paid for it. I’ve already made another order since I had planned to spend some birthday cash on indie companies and I’ve gotten really good customer service from Ellie. (Also, she mentioned wanting to send me more free things and, as a rule, if I pay you five dollars and you send me a hundred dollars worth of things I like, I won’t mind making another order to at least pay for shipping.) I would highly recommend the eyeshadows I tried, and the lip twists are pretty excellent too. My issues with Crimson Moon were all because I am bad at lip gloss, so when the Ectoplasmic Lips glosses come out, I’d say they’re worth a try from someone who knows what they are doing.

No, Ellie, thank you.

No, Ellie, thank you.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Dreamworld Hermetica – Lip Twists

  1. Your posts always make me giggle πŸ™‚ Fantastic sense of humor! πŸ˜› I just received my lip twists from Ellie too and I’m really impressed. I also got Blood Crypt and WOAH, if you want truly metallic red lips… go for that one! Hopefully I’ll have my swatches up soon. I’m loving the new eyeshadow formula, too! I did also have a little bit of trouble getting a couple of the twists to screw back into their tube, so I like the idea of the pots too.
    Thanks for sharing! πŸ˜€

    • Hm, I might need to try that! I do want truly metallic red lips. I was thinking of getting one of the fancy metallic lip tars, but I got a regular lip tar and it had basically no lasting power, so I’m kind of wary about those.

Leave a Reply

