Notoriously Morbid’s Dark Christmas Dream Collection!

Now, as some of you may know, I’m not exactly brimming with Christmas spirit. I mean, it’s a fine time of year. I get to nap, which is alright. But I also work retail, and thus am rather cynical and jaded about the whole deal. However, there are a few things that send a nonironic holiday spark straight to my cold, shrivelled little heart. One of those things is the Christmas Carol. When I was a kid and also now that I’m an adult, the Muppet Christmas Carol was our family Christmas movie. It’s a surprisingly faithful adaptation given that most of the characters are made of felt, and it always makes me smile just a bit. So I pretty much had to get the Dark Christmas Dream collection.

028

The package, all wrapped up and ready for me to give it to someone. Ha, ha.

I ordered minis of all the colours, since that’s an option now. I highly approve of this, as I want more colours but I’ve been less drawn towards sample baggies.

My little haul!

My little haul!

I also got two samples, called Well Hell 1 and 2. These are basically “oops” colours, and I think it’s a cute idea to send them out as free samples. I’ve gotten confirmation that they are possibly available for individual purchase if you drop them an e-mail, but since they are mistakes, they are very limited edition.

Swatches! Pixie Epoxy on the left, NYX Milk in the middle, primer on the right.

Swatches! Pixie Epoxy on the left, NYX Milk in the middle, primer on the right.

Alright, first off- there is actually no way to swatch these and show off the proper colours. This one used flash because it was the closest I could get. You will just have to trust me when I tell you that samples of these eyeshadows are what you need in your life.

Spirit Of All Three is a metallic gold with subtle red and green sparkles. It does lean a bit green, but it’s a nice goldy shimmery thing.

Look Upon Me is a grayish blue with a really amazing purple duochrome, or possibly the other way around. Notoriously Morbid, keep doing whatever you are doing with these duochromes because it is making me very happy.

No Warmth Could Warm is a light sky blue with a slight silver sheen to it.

Melancholy One is a metallic silver with a blue duochrome and a very slight hint of orange. It’s another one that is really hard to capture.

Shadow Of Things is a very dark charcoal gray with a true teal duochrome. You can see the base colour a bit better in this photo- it’s really nice and possibly my favourite in the collection.

Stake Of Holly is a spring green with a sort of bluish sheen to it.

Ebenezer, I Release You is a pale pink with a lilac duochrome to it. It isn’t quite as stunning as the other duochromes, but it is still nice.

Well Hell #1 is a reddish pink with a slight gold sparkle.

Well Hell #2 is a light sparkly taupe that looks like it might have been trying to be Kilgharrah at some point in its life.

Shadows and Melancholy. I was feeling blue.

Shadows and Melancholy. I was feeling blue. Ha, ha.

So, what do I think? Frankly, these colour-changing shadows are among the best duochromes I have ever had the honour to put on my face. I am sort of tempted to buy more with my Sealed Judgement discount, although I know full well I might not use these up. I’d highly recommend them, at least as sample baggies, because there is seriously no way I could capture that in a photo.

Posting might slow down a bit over Christmas. My family wants me to spend time with them, and I’ve got naps to have. Plus I’m working on a huge special review that I should have never started, so that is taking up a bunch of my blogging time. I’ll get back in the game, though, I promise!

Bonus eye using the Sealed Judgement set. I didn't want to do a full review, but they're also pretty great eyeshadows.

Bonus eye using the Sealed Judgement set. I didn’t want to do a full review, but they’re also pretty great eyeshadows.

Leave a Reply

