Indie Post- Black Rose Minerals

So, Black Rose Minerals. It’s one of those companies that I kept hearing “they are great, but…” about. Back in the summer, they were having a few issues with getting orders out. I made an order anyway, because I wanted to try them and am nice. It took long enough for my order to be made and sent that I forgot I had made it and made another order. This order was sent out promptly enough that I got the shipping notification before I got the first one, so I think they’re back on track more or less when it comes to shipping issues.

My double haul! (New one is still wrapped.)

My double haul! (New one is still wrapped.)

For both orders, I got the same thing, since I am predictable. The first one had a few more extras to make up for the delay. Both consisted of a sample pack and a mystery pack, and I requested she select all the colours. In both orders, there was a hand-written card filled with stickers and glitter. I am ashamed to admit that I opened both cards with reckless abandon over fabric, thereby glitterbombing myself twice.

Pixie Epoxy on top,NYX Milk in the middle, primer on bottom.

Pixie Epoxy on top, NYX Milk in the middle, primer on bottom.

Wish You Were Here is a sheer white shadow with rainbow sparkles. It’s a nice highlight and the name references a pretty good song, so I approve.

Faye is really beautiful- it’s a sheer yellow shadow with a red duochrome that’s just really interesting to look at.

Steele is another reference I don’t get, but it’s very nice. It’s a black base with a charcoal sheen to it.

Copperhead is the only sample I got two of, which is pretty good considering I asked her to pick her favourites. It’s a metallic orange-copper shade.

Wise Wizard is a reference I do get. It’s a shiny silver with a bit of white sparkle.

Tree Shepherds is another one I might get in the sale that is going on until tomorrow. It’s chocolate brown with a green duochrome that really stands out over most bases.

More of the same arm.

More of the same arm.

You can’t get All Apologies as it was just offered as compensation for late orders. Some people got full-sizes, but I only got a sample. It’s a nice shimmery teal-blue- not a colour I use often, but, you know, free.

Lovecats another reference I get and am happy about. Admittedly, the warm bright yellow isn’t really what I think of when I think Robert Smith, but I will gladly accept any and all Cure eyeshadows.

Aria is a lot like All Apologies, which is fortunate if you want that kind of colour. It’s a tealy shade with silver sparkles in there.

Shunsui is a cherry red with a slight aqua duochrome that would not photograph for some reason.

Fry is a light, mac-n-cheese orange with subtle sparkles.

Pixie Epoxy on top, NYX Milk in the middle, primer on bottom.

Pixie Epoxy on top, NYX Milk in the middle, primer on bottom.

Scabbed Wings was a full-size I got. It’s a deep chocolate brown with a sort of bronzey duochrome. Interesting colour, but subtle if you’re a neutral sort of person.

Demonspeeding is a brown-toned light green. It hasn’t got too much shimmer in there.

Disintegration is a dusty blue-gray. It doesn’t immediately capture my heart, but it’ll be nice for looking subtle.

Dreaming is Blondie eyeshadow, so it gets a place in my heart. It’s a shimmery coral-pink shade.

Corrupted is a dingy matte gray-green. I don’t personally like it, but it would have its uses.

Pixie Epoxy on the left, NYX Milk in the middle, primer on the right.

Pixie Epoxy on the left, NYX Milk in the middle, primer on the right.

Isela is a sparkly pink with gold shimmer throughout.

Bloody Kisses is a dark burgundy colour. I had trouble getting any true red tones out of it.

Starfire is my favourite of the oranges I got. It’s a reddish orange with gold shimmer.

 

Pixie Epoxy on the left, NYX Milk in the center, primer on the right.

Pixie Epoxy on the left, NYX Milk in the center, primer on the right.

Slip And Fall is a frosty light pink that would probably be a good base colour or something if you weren’t feeling the matte skintone.

Electric Head is a very light yellow-orange. It’s one of the few colours that could have been a bit more pigmented.

Urahara which is not “Uhura” as I first thought it was is a very dark brown with a forest green duochrome. A very pretty colour for something that is not named after Nichelle Nichols.

Mystery was really hard to find the link for on the internet, since Google only offered the Mystery packs. I hope you appreciate it. It’s a light aqua-toned green with gold sparkles.

These Things is (are?) a white-silver with slight pink tones. It’s a really brightening colour.

Isis is a metallic ruby red. Another one I’m ordering a full-size in, since it’s so beautiful.

Puss Puss and Peep are both from the Third Anniversary collection, which is only available in the set of three. Puss Puss is a bright neon-ish pink, and Peep is a light yellow. I wish I had a sample of the third colour, since that looks really lovely.

Mourn is a rosy brown with a bunch of silvery looking sparkles.

Eye look with Wish You Were Here, Faye, and Scabbed Wings.

Eye look with Wish You Were Here, Faye, and Scabbed Wings.

I’ll be making another order. While a few of the colours weren’t as pigmented as I would have them be, the majority were very nice, and with something like 200 colours of eyeshadow, you can probably find exactly what you’re looking for. Plus, you know, New Year’s sale is going on until tomorrow. 40% of everything. Check it out.

 

Leave a Reply

