Sugarpill’s Burning Heart Palette

Oops! I thought I published this last week, but it apparently went straight to drafts. Sorry about that!

Package contents!

Package contents!

The first purchase I made on Black Friday was Sugarpill’s Burning Heart palette from the Addicted to Pretty collection. I knew I needed more Sugarpill in my life since I got Cold Chemistry, and Burning Heart had red in it, so it had to be mine. It came with a free sample of Royal Sugar- again, I do have to comment on how you can’t tell what the eyeshadow actually is once you take the cardboard off to open it. Step up your game, Sugarpill.

Inside the palette!

Inside the palette!

As you can see, the eyeshadows you get are actually huge. I don’t just have teeny little hands, I promise. I expected the mirror to be bigger for some irrational reason, though. Consciously thinking about it, for it to be the size I randomly assumed it would be, the eyeshadows themselves would have to be as big around as a coffee mug or something, which would just be ridiculous.

The palette itself is cardboard, with a magnetic closure.

Swatches over Pixie Epoxy, NYX Milk, and regular primer.

Swatches over Pixie Epoxy, NYX Milk, and regular primer.

THIS IS THE STUFF. Ahem.

Buttercupcake is a strong matte yellow. It is pretty good even without primer, which might be important to some of you.

Flamepoint is a matte red-orange. It’s reminiscent of cartoon duck beaks.

Love+ I love. Plus. It’s a really great matte red with slight blue tones. It was the reason I bought the palette in the first place, and I might have been satisfied even if I hated the other colours because this is such a nice red.

Poison Plum is the only non-matte shadow. It’s got a slight pearly sheen to it, but nothing overwhelming.

Royal Sugar was kinda “eh” for me. It’s a royal blue with light blue glitter, and while it’s nice, it’s not that special to me. I might just be upset that they were out of Goldilux when I made my order, though.

My face! (someday i will brush my hair before posting. this is not that day)

My face! (someday i will brush my hair before posting. this is not that day)

Eye close-up, featuring Poison Plum, Love+, and Buttercupcake. (I did not use flamepoint, this is just how they blend together.)

Eye close-up, featuring Poison Plum, Love+, and Buttercupcake. (I did not use flamepoint, this is just how they blend together.)

Overall, I’m pretty pleased with this order. I’m sure you already knew this, but if you are looking for lovely bright mattes, Sugarpill is worth a go.

Leave a Reply

