Review: Fierce Magenta And Lipchic Lip Sealer

After I made my first Fierce Magenta order, I had to make another. After all, I do always need more blue lipsticks, and I really liked the formula of my previous order. So I got in on one of her deals to pick up a few more lipsticks.

The haul! Apparently I took this photo in the dark.

The haul! Apparently I took this photo in the dark.

I ordered a lip gloss in Starburst, and three full-size lipsticks in Mirage, Medusa, and Tulipe Noir. I got a free sample tube of Purple Ink. I do like the full-size lipstick packaging a lot more- one of the few minor gripes I had about my last order is that the ink was sort of wearing off the sample tube’s label.

Starburst lip gloss on real human lips.

Starburst lip gloss on real human lips.

Starburst is quite difficult to photograph. It’s quite a subtle effect when you apply lip gloss as sparsely as I tend to. (It gets windy here, I can’t have my hair sticking in that.) It leaves the lips shiny with a subtle multicoloured glittery shine.

Mirage lipstick!

Mirage lipstick!

Mirage is a metallic orangey copper colour. It has a shimmery finish, and is quite wearable in situations where you don’t want blue lips for some reason.

Medusa!

Medusa!

As those who know me may have guessed, Medusa is what convinced me to make this order. It’s a lovely slightly purply royal blue with a creamy formula.

Tulipe Noir. I was kind of a gothybutt that day.

Tulipe Noir. I was kind of a gothybutt that day.

Tulipe Noire was a pleasant surprise. It’s a black lipstick with a sort of vinyl-looking finish. Applies opaque, too, which is an important thing in my black lippies.

Purple Ink

Purple Ink

Purple Ink is a dark plum- again, a creamy sort of finish. I should mention that I love the Fierce Magenta formula- it’s really moisturizing, which helps in the winter. And it seems to last, on the whole, longer than my Portland Black Lipstick Company samples do. I still highly recommend this company for pigmented, wacky-coloured lipsticks. While I’m not as hyped on the glosses, I do hardly ever wear gloss, so that might explain that.

Bonus- Lipchic Lip Sealant

Little bottle of MAGIC

Little bottle of MAGIC

When I wear unnatural-toned lipstick (which I do pretty much every day) I often find myself having to reapply frequently, since I always have a cup of tea and snacks on hand. As this is something I often whine about, one of my readers took it upon herself to send me a little care package. One of the things in this package (besides Train Bleu- and OH MY GOODNESS TRAIN BLEU IS FANTASTIC. Ahem) was a bottle of Lipchic Lip Sealer. It comes in a small, nail polish-looking bottle, and supposedly you brush it on in a few coats to lock your lippy in place.

Now, I am far from a scientist, but I decided to conduct a little experiment. I put on Tulipe Noire so it would show the most, and proceeded to put two coats of Lipchic on half of my mouth. I then ate the greasiest dinner I could make for myself- bacon, smiley fries, mushrooms and onions, and brownies with marshmallow fluff. I accompanied this with two cups of tea. The things I do for you people, I swear.

Guess which side had the sealant on.

Guess which side had the Lipchic on.

As you can see, the side with just Tulipe Noir disappeared in the face of such a meal, as any decent person would. The side with the Lipchic, however, is surprisingly firmly in place. This stuff is very useful if you’re the type of person who likes wearing dark lipstick and also eating meals that you feel kind of ashamed to admit you ate on the internet. I did feel a slight tingling, though, so watch out if your lips are sensitive or something.

Thanks, Simone!

4 thoughts on “Review: Fierce Magenta And Lipchic Lip Sealer

      • Simone says:

        So how long did they take to ship? If I can arrange a job transfer I might place an order before I leave. I like the idea of a package waiting for me when I get home. Of course if I order too soon it risks getting sucked in to the hoarders nest that is my family home.

Leave a Reply

