Addictive Cosmetics review

As some of you may have gleaned, I tend towards… interesting colours in my eye makeup. I realized relatively recently that while I own a lot of red eyeshadows, I have yet to have found a true red eyeliner. So, like any responsible person does when picking out products that could mess with their sensitive eye chemistry, I went on Etsy and picked out the first one that had halfway reasonable shipping to Canada. Addictive Cosmetics sells a variety of products, so I ordered a bunch of samples along with the eyeliner because I might as well.

All the samples!

All the samples!

All the samples came in clamshells. I ordered one lipstick sample, six eyeshadows, and two lip gloss samples along with the eyeliner. I got sent a sample of Fix-It primer and mixing medium for free, which was nice since I was looking at it anyhow.

Open it up!

Open it up!

All the eyeshadow samples had a similar amount of product in them- enough for a few uses. The lip gloss samples were pretty full as well, and the eyeliner was full to the top.

Swatches! Over NYX Milk on the left and Fixit Primer on the right.

Swatches! Over NYX Milk on the left and Fixit Primer on the right.

Suck My Kiss is a deep red metalliceyeshadow. It’s really pigmented, even without primer.

Run Forrest is a greyish green. I wouldn’t say it’s exactly a Forrest green (ha, ha, ha) but it’s still nice. It has a lot of slightly chunky glitter in.

Ice Ice Baby is a mint green shadow. Over the Fixit, it clumped up kind of weirdly.

Envy is a dark purple colour with sparkles. It’s described as having gold and bronze sparkles, but those sort of disappear unless you look really closely.

Fragglerock is one I ordered because there should be more Muppet-themed makeup. It’s a blue-toned purple with kind of sparse sparkle.

Shameless is a warm brown. It had a lot of teal glitter in there which shows up really well over any sort of base.

Red Hot eyeliner, along with the Fixit Primer before and after.

Red Hot eyeliner, along with the Fixit Primer before and after.

I found the Red Hot gel liner a bit tricky to work with. It’s definitely more liquid than most gel liners I’ve tried, and takes a pretty long time to dry. If I didn’t sit there with my eyes closed for at least a minute, it would get all over. While the metallic red colour is lovely, it’s not really practical. As well, even when wearing it over my best primer, it compromises the integrity of any eyeliner I wear over it.

The Fixit Eye Primer comes in a little spray bottle, so if you are like me, you can pretend you’re macing yourself in the eyes every morning. Unfortunately, much like real pepper spray, it isn’t actually that effective in keeping eyeshadow in place. The pictured example is what happened after wearing it through seven hours of school, which is a reasonable amount of time to expect my eyeshadows to last. When I used it as a foiling medium over a good primer, it worked well, but I wouldn’t recommend it for anyone with eyes that are as greasy as my own.

Cleopatra lipstick.

Cleopatra lipstick.

I was really disappointed with the quality of the lipstick sample I got. It was rock-hard and would not apply on lips at all, opting instead to crumble off onto the floor. The arm swatch of Cleopatra looks fine, but my arm did not have to smile.

Heavenly Lip Gloss

Heavenly Lip Gloss

The Heavenly lip gloss has a lovely royal blue colour with light blue sparkles. While the colour is great, the application is lacking. It’s very thick and sticky, and it comes off very easily. As well, it’s not nearly as opaque as a blue lipstick ought to be.

Kiss Off

Kiss Off

Kiss Off is very similar. While I could wear a black lip liner to make the colour look actually black, I could also just wear a real black lipstick.

Overall, I wasn’t entirely unimpressed with Addictive Cosmetics. Fixit does make a nice foiling medium, and the eyeshadows are alright. However, all the lipsticks I tried were a flop, and the eyeliner was kind of impractical. If you make an order, I’d skip the liquid or cream products, or at the very least go for samples first.

 

Leave a Reply

