Shiro- Now With Intertubes

I am actually kind of ashamed. I have ordered from Shiro how many times now without ordering a blue lippy? Normally that’s the first thing I go for. Shame be upon my head. That said, I had to make another order last month, because the COTM was called Up All Night To Get Loki. While I’m not one of those obsessed Tom Hiddleston fangirls or anything like that, I thought his performance as Coriolanus was absolutely fantastic, and also there was a pun in the eyeshadow name, so I was all over that noise.

Look at me, not eating all the candy before I took a picture. I should get a blogger award.

Look at me, not eating all the candy before I took a picture. I should get a blogger award.

So here’s my package! Along with Up All Night, I ordered Mother Of Dragons, a sample tin of Three Wolf Moon, and Robe And Wizard Hat. Both my free samples are ones I already have, but I don’t expect Shiro to keep track of everything she has ever sent me, so that’s a minor gripe at best.

Swatch arm! Intertubes are swatched over bare skin, eyeshadows over Pixie Epoxy on top, NYX Milk in the middle, and primer on the bottom.

Swatch arm! Intertubes are swatched over bare skin, eyeshadows over Pixie Epoxy on top, NYX Milk in the middle, and primer on the bottom.

I didn’t bother swatching the samples since you can just scroll back and I’m saving them to give away.

You can still get Up All Night To Get Loki on the website if you so desire. It’s sort of a browny olive green with silvery sparkles that really tone down the warmth of the green. While I do have a lot of greens, I don’t know if I’ve got one like this.

I don’t watch Game of Thrones, so I may or may not have gotten Mother Of Dragons because I recognized the lady with the white hair and thought she was cool because she has dragons for some reason. Awesome. That said, it’s a lovely colour- it comes across as a red-violet with a silvery duochrome, but the silver isn’t as pronounced over regular primer, so if you were into something subtle, that would work.

Robe And Wizard Hat, Mother Of Dragons, and Are You Shear You Wanna Enchant That? on a face.

Robe And Wizard Hat, Mother Of Dragons, and Are You Shear You Wanna Enchant That? on a face.

So, that there is some blue lips. Robe And Wizard Hat comes across on me as a bright, turquoisey blue. The gold sparks are subtle, but there. It is a nice colour. HOWEVER. Look at my lips, then look at the product photo on the website. Shiro, I hate to say this, but you need to get yourself some swatches, since this isn’t really what anyone would expect when ordering. I mean, yeah, I would have still ordered it, but that is really, really off.

The blueberry scent is present, but far from overpowering. It lasted longer than I expected, since it is basically a tinted balm.

Three Wolf Moon, Up All Night To Get Loki, and Mother Of Dragons on a face.

Three Wolf Moon, Up All Night To Get Loki, and Mother Of Dragons on a face.

I am feeling a tad bit more charitable towards Three Wolf Moon since it is notoriously different for everyone who tries it on. On me it’s a warm berry colour- not really a thing I usually wear, but nice for when I have to look like I’m not an alien or something. And again, not really the deep red on the website. I am happy to report that the cinnamon taste is like real cinnamon, which I love, and not like cinnamon hearts, which I regard as awful little hell-nuggets and one of the worst things about Valentine’s Day. It might irritate your lips if you’re sensitive to cinnamon, though. It also has a staining effect.

While I am happy with these things, I do think that there should be swatches on the site for the older Intertubes, just because it’s so hard to try and figure out what colour you’ll be getting from the product photo alone. Plus, really, they’ve been out for years, there’s probably a million bloggers who would volunteer swatch photos for free. Shiro eyeshadows are still really nice and I still like them, but I might hesitate on making another Intertube purchase without more research.

3 thoughts on “Shiro- Now With Intertubes

Leave a Reply

