Glamour Doll Eyes

I finally got around to ordering from Glamour Doll when they had a sale. I’m not sure why I waited- they spelled “glamour” with a U, as is proper, which normally means I instantly make an order. (I mean, I make an order even faster for “colour” but that’s another story.) Ah well- better late than never, I suppose.

Look at all these things. LOOK AT THEM.

Look at all these things. LOOK AT THEM.

The first thing you notice upon getting a package from Glamour Doll is that there’s a surprising amount of promotional material. My packet had two Glamour Doll business cards, a Glamour Doll sticker, a card for Darling Girl, one for Sedona Lace, and one for Black Rose Minerals with a discount code. Of these additional businesses, the only one I had never heard of is Sedona Lace. They seem kind of sketchy, but they also have red gel eyeliner and that’s enough to severely tempt me. So, uh, thanks, Glamour Doll.  I also got a free LE gift with purchase and two free samples, which are things I am more interested in.

Straight to the swatches! Pixie Epoxy on the left, NYX Milk in the middle, primer on the right.

Straight to the swatches! Pixie Epoxy on the left, NYX Milk in the middle, primer on the right.

My goodness, those are some colours.

The ❤ Of The Matter (or, as it appears on the listing page, “The”) is a charity shadow, where 100% of the proceeds go to a woman called Shyra to help her afford a heart transplant, which is A Nice Thing. It’s a lot redder than it looked on the site, with purple sparks scattered through.

The swatch for Veteran is really, really accurate. I feel the need to comment on that, since a common complaint of mine is inaccurate swatches. It’s a deep, dark navy with a red sort of sheen.

Marry me, Trophy Wife. This is an opaque, metallic gold. It’s notable that, even over the bits in the middle with no primer, this is really pigmented. If you don’t have creasing problems, you can just glom this on your eye and be fine. My only complaint was that this seemed to have a lot of fallout, but that’s a minor gripe.

I had a really hard time choosing between Vigilante and Mighty Maiden. I went with Batman-themed eyeshadow because of course I did and I don’t think I made a mistake. It’s a slightly warmer blue than Veteran, with a light silvery sparkle.

Lover’s Lane is a shiny, deep metallic red. It’s not quite as strong as Trophy Wife, but it’s still pretty pigmented.

Undercover is one of the free samples I got, which you can tell because it’s not wacky colours. (I find it funny how certain indie owners always send me samples of browns. “Please, Bobbie,” I imagine them saying, “try neutrals. Just try. There is no need for you to have red eyes and blue lips. This is madness.” YOU GUYS AREN’T MY REAL MOM.) Anyway, this is a slightly sparkly, taupey brown. If you’re into taupey browns, this might be a thing you need. It’s pretty pigmented- far from the worst taupey brown even in my limited taupey brown collection.

Infectious is the only one in this order I was disappointed with. It’s a metallic coppery colour, but it applies a bit patchily. You can build it up to full opacity over a base, but it needs a bit of effort.

Finally, we have Cliche. It’s a light, sparkly lilac- not too shabby, especially for a free thing.

Trophy Wife, Lover's Lane, and Vigilante on my eyes.

Trophy Wife, Lover’s Lane, and Vigilante on my eyes.

Overall, I was really impressed with my first order. Most of the shadows were wonderfully pigmented, and they blended quite well. Even the swatches were mostly pretty accurate, which is my favourite thing. I may yet make another order.

Leave a Reply

