How To Wear Blue Lipstick, Part 1

I have made almost fifty posts on this blog. This is kind of a big achievement. I don’t do very many things fifty times. If I had a dollar for each post I had made, I would now be able to buy the fancy foundation I’ve been really really wanting. Or, like, four plates of nachos, if we’re being realistic about what I would spend my money on. As a little celebration, I’ve decided to pass some guidance on to you- specifically, about blue lipstick. Since, you know, that’s sort of my thing, and I’m generally not very helpful when people ask me about it. So, to everyone who I’ve ever told “Step 1- put on blue lipstick. Step 2- you’re wearing blue lipstick now” this tutorial thing is for you.

I’m kind of focussing on a more subdued thing, since if you’re not comfortable with blue lips, my “just put colour on EVERYTHING” approach to makeup might not be the best for you either. I’m also going to try and make the products needed as generic as possible, since you shouldn’t have to go out to the store or make internet orders just to wear blue lips. Blue lips are for everyone.

My face!

My face!

Start with a clean, moisturized face. You can brush your hair, but mine just sorta looks like this when I wake up. You know your pre-makeup routine better than I do. I personally shuffle out of bed, put on 90’s-era Britney Spears, and make tea, but I get if that’s not your scene.

011

Eye primer!

Prime your eye with whatever you like to use. Again, this is totally the sort of thing that depends based on your personal eye chemistry. I’m currently using Too Faced Shadow Insurance, but I’ve found NARS Smudgeproof to be even better, so that’s what I’m going with next. I’m not using any super bright colours or duochromes in this look, so I’m not going to bother with NYX Milk or Pixie Epoxy. You can if you want.

Primed eye!

Primed eye!

Here is what my eye looks like with primer on there. As you can see, it is fairly similar to my eye without primer.

All the eyeshadows I used!

All the eyeshadows I used!

I used my Lunatick Cosmetics palette, since it was right there and my other eyeshadows are all the way upstairs it had all the colours I needed that were useful neutrals. You can use any of your favourite neutral eyeshadows. Here‘s my post on the palette if you want to use swatches to find similar colours.

Your eye, with SPARKLES.

Your eye, with SPARKLES.

Start by brushing a light colour with a bit of shimmer all over there to help with blending. I used one of the two nearly-identical highlight shades on the top row of the neutrals, but I could not tell you which one I used.

Isn't sheeee pretty in pink?

Isn’t sheeee pretty in pink?

I then swept the pinky-coral colour from the top row over my lid. You could use a brown for this, but I didn’t because my skin is a lot pinkier and brown sometimes looks odd.

Dark it up.

Dark it up.

I then used the dark purply shade from the bottom row on the right on my outer corner and smeared under my lower lash line a bit. This makes the pink look a lot less pinky.

PAINT IT BLACK

PAINT IT BLACK

I was going to leave it like that, but then decided to use the matte black on the very outer corner and smeared into the crease because I can’t do anything without black eyeshadow.

Are you ready for eyeliner?

Are you ready for eyeliner?

You’re now done with eyeshadow. Get ready for eyeliner. I personally love gel eyeliner until I die. I have a few I use- today I used one from a brand called Starry. I have never seen this brand in stores, but I can recommend it- it is opaque and creamy and lasts all day.

Wingin' it.

Wingin’ it.

Slam some winged eyeliner on there. So many people have better tutorials than I could ever give for this step.

My secret weapon!

My secret weapon! (Also my cat in the background.)

Oh, I’m sorry, did you think I was going to do an eye look with only neutrals and no glitter? You clearly haven’t been following this blog long enough.

This is a liquid eyeliner from the discontinued Sephora+Pantone Elementals collection. I’m not sure what element it was supposed to be- perhaps fire, perhaps water, you never know. (There was a dark brown that was clearly earth and a light lavender that was probably air, but the other one was bright green, so I’m not even sure.) You can use any glitter eyeliner you have lying around. If you’re a fan of setting your eyeliner with eyeshadow, Shiro’s Lingered In Twilight would also be good, or you can just use any eye-safe glitter.

BAM. GLITTER.

BAM. GLITTER.

Once your black eyeliner has set, just paint the glitter on over. This is pretty much the only way I wear glitter eyeliner any more- most of it isn’t opaque enough for me to really like it on its own, but it gives a nice oil-slick duochrome effect that will spark up even the simplest eye look.

Mascara and the weather outside.

Mascara and the weather outside.

Get your mascara on…

Finished eye!

Finished eye!

… and you’re good! You can now do things with your brows if that’s a thing you do. I hardly ever bother, just because my brows are naturally thick and dark and I am still looking for a product that will let me do things without them looking painted on.

Face goop!

Face goop!

You also do your face stuff now. I used this foundation- it’s kind of sheer, but it’s comfortable to wear and almost white enough for me.

Be-foundationed face.

Be-foundationed face.

I don’t generally do anything blush-wise when I’ve got my blue lips on. I find any additional warmth in my face just looks weird with them, and I am still experimenting with blue blush. There is probably room for some sick cool-toned contour, though, so if you’re good at that, do it.

I think this picture properly emphasizes how subtle the glitter can be. Like, I could probably wear this to work if I worked in a place that cared about my eye makeup.

TIME FOR THE BEST PART GUYS

TIME FOR THE BEST PART GUYS

Are you ready to put on your blue lipstick? You had better be, since that’s the only thing I have left to do! I used Melt Cosmetics’ DGAF, since I love it.

BOOM THERE IT IS

BOOM THERE IT IS

Put on the blue lipstick. There. It’s on. You’re done.

Take a nap if you want. You've earned it.

Take a nap if you want. You’ve earned it.

The blue lipstick will look a bit weird to you at first. It’s fine. No need to stress. Your next step is to go out somewhere. Nowhere big- you don’t need to hit up a party. Go grocery shopping, or take a walk, just to get used to it.

Bonus- face after a few hours and a meal.

Bonus- face after a few hours and a meal.

I mean, I didn’t go out. I stayed at home and ate burritos for breakfast because I’m all kinds of classy. But in the process, I learned that DGAF stands up remarkably well to drinking a bunch of tea and eating three burritos. Look at that. Amazing. Lovely. I love it.

If anyone has any tutorials or anything they’d like to see me do, let me know! I don’t ever claim to know about how to do anything, but I’m happy to pretend.

 

6 thoughts on “How To Wear Blue Lipstick, Part 1

  1. Simone says:

    I wish someone would do a “how to wear pink lipstick without looking like a total freak,” because I can’t.

    I really really like that blue. It is very fortunately out of stock at the moment.

    • I think I need that too. For some reason, I’m cool with, like, neon blue glitter on my lips, but any shade of pink is just horrid.

      It’s a very good blue! Came from an awesome person, too.

      • Simone says:

        Yeah I can do red… Burgundy is easy, blue doesn’t make me feel strange (it just attracts comments,) but when I wear pink in a serious way I feel crazy. I can wear a dusty pink or nude pink. But I had a sample of Urban Decay’s Catfight and I looked so silly.

      • I find nude pinks sorta make me look dead (well, more dead than I normally look) and bright pinks just look weird. I’m sure for me it’s just a personal thing, but pink isn’t my deal.

  2. Simone says:

    Upon rereading this post the most horrifying thing occurred to me. $50 would only buy your four plates of nachos? I can never go to the place where you live. I can get seven plates of nachos for $50.

    Thanks for inspiring my dinner.

Leave a Reply

