Notoriously Morbid’s Little Melancholies

I’m a horrible procrastinator- long shipping times to Canada plus the pile of packets that need swatching means that everyone is already posting about the new Twin Peaks collection, and I’m just here looking at the Valentine’s collection. Still, there is always time for love!

Notoriously Morbid thinks I'm cool.

Notoriously Morbid thinks I’m cool.

I ordered the Little Melancholies collection. I got Quiet in the Dark and Hearts of Black Lace as full-sizes because I don’t have enough red eyeshadow and minis of the rest. Along with this, I got sent a Coffin Kisser in Strangely Charming Cherry, two samples, and a lollipop that said I was cool.

Coffin Kissers are still my favourite night lip balm. This tastes like cherry, which is a good thing. I also want to congratulate them on managing to send samples that I didn’t already have. I own too much Notoriously Morbid and that’s an impressive feat.

Swatches! Top is Pixie Epoxy, middle is NYX Milk, bottom is primer.

Swatches! Top is Pixie Epoxy, middle is NYX Milk, bottom is primer.

Doc Brown is a sort of tawny brown with a champagne gold shimmer to it. While I do often find it hard to get worked up about browns, this is a nice one.

Vashta Nerada is one I kept meaning to try and then forgetting to because I am silly. Silence In The Library was a really good episode of Doctor Who, and this is a lovely smoky purple-black with just a touch of shimmer. I recommend both.

Forgotten Dreams is a colour that seems really innocent to me. I know that’s a weird way to describe it, but I think it’s a good thing. It’s a light purple with a strong pink shift, and is kind of lovely.

Rain On Cold Glass is a light champagne gold with a very slight blue-green tone. If you are as pale as me, you might think “this will make a nice appropriate browbone highlight” but it’s a tad bit dark and metallic for that. I’ve learned my lesson, though, and it’s a very useful colour if you want a colour that you can use with your array of wacky colours that’s sort of useful but is still interesting. Of course, that’s the one I spilled all over myself yesterday. I will probably be ordering more, though, since it also makes a perfectly adequate body glitter.

Walks In The Moonlight has a gray-purple base with a strong blue shift. I didn’t really see the green tones, but it’s a really neat colour that almost seems luminous.

Hearts Of Black Lace. Unf. This is a deep dried-blood red, with a very slight gold shimmer. My kind of colour. Very pigmented, but not straight up black, for when black eyeshadow is not appropriate.

Quiet In The Dark. Double unf. It’s a bright red with a gold duochrome. Again, I’m biased because these are all things I love, but I’m so happy I got a full-size of this, since I’ve been using it a lot.

Face with Hearts of Black Lace, Quiet In The Dark, and Rain On Cold Glass.

Face with Hearts of Black Lace, Quiet In The Dark, and Rain On Cold Glass.

All these colours go really well together- they feel like a collection. I would not be surprised to see these in a palette together.

Bonus face with Rain On Cold Glass, Forgotten Dreams, and Walks In The Moonlight.

Bonus face with Rain On Cold Glass, Forgotten Dreams, and Walks In The Moonlight.

Overall, a bunch of beautiful colours. I feel my reviewing Notoriously Morbid must grow boring, since they’ve never sent me anything I don’t like. (Hence a layout change. It’s a brand new day.) Pretty eyeshadows, high recommendation, I like the red one. You know how this ends.

4 thoughts on “Notoriously Morbid’s Little Melancholies

Leave a Reply

