Innocent+Twisted Alchemy

Innocent+Twisted Alchemy is one of the many companies I took too long to order from for some reason. I have a sneaking suspicion that it’s because when you click on the “reds, pinks, and magentas” colour section, none of the colours are red, and I clearly don’t have enough red eyeshadow. That said, they had a sale, so I got a Lucky Pack just to try them out.

Lucky Package.

Lucky Package.

One of the main draws of I+TA is that the creator does most of her own drawings. She also sells prints and things from the same shop. While it’s not exactly my style (I prefer my art to be inscrutable commentary on how everyone in modern society is truly lost) it’s certainly pretty.

Package contents!

Package contents!

My Lucky Pack gave me five full-sized jars, and I got a free sample clamshell. It’s notable that all of these were filled to the brim, with no sifter- there is a lot of shadow in all of these.

Minor gripe time!

Minor gripe time!

The full-size jars were taped shut with adorable Red Riding Hood tape. Unfortunately, the tape left residue on the sides of the jars. This isn’t that big of a deal to me, but I figure some people care more.

Swatches! Pixie Epoxy on top, NYX Milk in the middle, primer on the bottom.

Swatches! Pixie Epoxy on top, NYX Milk in the middle, primer on the bottom.

I could only find Crinkled Satin for sale in this alternate store. It’s a dark, almost-black purple with purple and pink glitter. Especially over Pixie Epoxy, the glitter pops.

Sally is a pearly baby pink. It’s got a light blue duochrome, but nothing overwhelming.

I can see myself using Concealed Harmony a lot. It mostly comes off as a gunmetal-y colour with a whole whack of purple and blue sparkles.

Grieving Flame is a charcoal gray with a yellow duochrome. I really love this one- I can just wear it over Pixie Epoxy and not feel undone, or I can use it foiled as a liner on a look I feel isn’t interesting enough.

Evil Snowflakes is a sparkly white. It’s got some sort of purple-blue undertone, which is kind of cool.

Fragile Dream is the brightest colour I got. It’s purple with a strong blue duochrome. I kind of love it.

Evil Snowflakes, Fragile Dream, and Concealed Harmony on my face.

Evil Snowflakes, Fragile Dream, and Concealed Harmony on my face.

So far, I’m pretty impressed by these shadows. My only issue (and this is entirely personal) is that most of their colours seem to be a bit more neutral than I’m used to. This is not a bad thing, as such, but I’d personally have to consider making another order. The shadows I got were of high enough quality that I’d feel comfortable trying out their subscription box- generally, I would recommend what I got.

Leave a Reply

