More Sugarpill Goodness!

When Sugarpill had their birthday sale back in February, I had to make an order. However, I didn’t find myself particularly enamored with either the Sweetheart or Heartbreaker palettes, and I really really wanted Goldilux, so I made my first order of single shadows.

 

Family portrait!

Family portrait!

I ended up going with the Goldilux and two pressed eyeshadows- 2AM and the limited edition @#$%!. The package came with a little card advertising Cold Chemistry, the glittery Sugarpill bumper sticker, and a free sample of Magentric.

Swatches! Pixie Epoxy on top, NYX Milk in the middle, primer on the bottom.

Swatches! Pixie Epoxy on top, NYX Milk in the middle, primer on the bottom.

Magentric reminded me that Sugarpill really, really needs to start labelling their sample baggies. Seriously, it’s just a minor irritation. The eyeshadow itself is nice, although it’s a bit pink for me to think of it as magenta. It does have a spritz of cyan sparkle, which is nice.

Goldilux is a beautiful shiny metallic gold. I still love it. I was also pleasantly surprised by the size. On the website, it says that it’s 5 grams, but I interpreted that as “in a 5 gram jar” like most indie shadows. Quick research shows that a 5 gram jar normally holds 1 or two grams, so I now have about three times as much as I expected, which makes the normal price of 12 dollars seem a lot more reasonable. Plus now if I want, I can reenact Goldfinger, so that’s always a nice option to have.

I labelled 2AM as 4AM because that’s about the time I normally write blog posts. It’s a red-violet colour with just a touch of shimmer.

@#$%! is impossible to Google. It’s also a blue-based red with a slightly pearly finish and a bit of silver glitter. It’s also pleasantly pigmented, which I find important. It does stain my skin a bit, though.

“But wait,” you might say, if you are dedicated fans of my blog and keep a running tally of all the red eyeshadow I have. “Don’t you already have Love+, which also is a red by Sugarpill? Why would you need both?” First, hush your mouth, hypothetical reader. Second, they are fairly different as red eyeshadow goes.

Comparison of Love+ and @#$%! Swatched over bare skin.

Comparison of Love+ and @#$%! Swatched over bare skin.

Love+ is, as you can see here, a lot more orangey. It’s also matte, which is a big difference for people who don’t like shimmer for whatever reason. See? Totally different.

Goldilux, @#$%!, 2AM, and Magentric on my face.

Goldilux, @#$%!, 2AM, and Magentric on my face.

Once again, very nice. I might use Goldilux every day just because I can.

5 thoughts on “More Sugarpill Goodness!

Leave a Reply

