Silk Naturals- The Tiniest of Overviews

Silk Naturals is one of those companies that I kept hearing about as recommendations for everything. Eyeshadow, lipstick, skincare, hair stuff- they appear to have it all. Really, the only reason I waited so long to make an order was because I don’t have much interest in a Naked palette dupe and none of their lipsticks are blue and that’s what makes decisions for me. That said, an order was made with much hemming and hawing about how I had to settle for black lipstick and my life is so HARD.

Little haul!

Little haul!

I ordered two eyeshadows, one lipstick, two foundation samples, and a sample of brow cream because seriously, I suppose I should try doing something about those guys. They sent me a slightly smaller eyeshadow and a sample of lipstick for free, which was nice of them.

Eyeshadow swatches! Pixie Epoxy on top, NYX Milk in the middle, primer on the bottom.

Eyeshadow swatches! Pixie Epoxy on top, NYX Milk in the middle, primer on the bottom.

4Ever is a sort of rosy beige with a shimmery finish. Not bad for a free thing, but to be honest, it’s not really turning any of my cranks. The pigmentation is thoroughly “meh.” That said, consistency-wise, it was the best of the three.

Black Ice is black with a bunch of blue glitter. This is kind of a nuisance to work with. Most of the glitter fell off pretty much immediately. Even the Pixie Epoxy didn’t hold it all, and that is pretty much made for adhering glitter to skin. On my face, it just sort of became a smoky gray, which is nice, but not really what I signed up for.

Demon is brown with a bunch of red glitter. It’s even more impossible to use than Black Ice. All the glitter fell off the Pixie Epoxy bit. This is a thing that should not happen. Additionally, while the brown swatches nicely, you have to build it up a lot to try and get it to show up properly on your eyes.

Overall, I wasn’t too overwhelmingly thrilled by the eyeshadows.

Other swatches!

Other swatches!

I got samples of their foundations in Alabaster (the white one) and N10, the lightest of their neutral tones. The clamshells were full of cream, which was nice. Unfortunately, the colour selection is a bit limited. The foundation comes in “neutral” and “golden” tones, so if you’ve got pink tones, you were out of luck. They only released the cool toned foundations yesterday. As well, it’s kind of hard to tell from the site photos, but if you’ve got skin darker than “tan white person” you might run into some difficulty. That said, the formula is fairly nice. It’s got a bit of coverage, and a matte finish, so it might be worth a try if you’re within the shade range.

The brow cream came in a little dollop on the bottom of the clamshell, but there’s enough there for a while. Colour-wise, I’m not sure what it does for my brows. I’m not the best judge of that, though, since my brows are impenetrable masses of black. It did feel nice on, but it didn’t really do much taming of the hairs. I think this might be because my brows are kind of terrifying independent entities.

Cayenne lipstick sample.

Cayenne lipstick sample.

The lipstick samples are Q-tips which have been covered in lipstick, which is kind of a genius in a weird way. I haven’t made it down to the middle yet, so while cotton in the lipstick could be an issue, it isn’t one I’ve encountered. Problems for Future Bobbie are the best kind of problems. The website describes it as a red with gold, but it comes across as more of an orangey red. Not really the most flattering colour on me, but Silk Naturals doesn’t know my face.

BAM!

BAM!

BAM! on the other hand, is a lovely colour on my face. It’s a creamy black that dries down to a matte finish if you don’t drink tea or anything for half an hour. While it does tend to bleed in lip lines, I fixed it easily with a black lipliner.

So, would I order from Silk Naturals again? Honestly, I’m not sure. The eyeshadows were kind of sketchy- while I might try some mattes or something, I’d recommend you steer clear for now. Pity, since the Naked palette dupes are apparently a major draw for them.  The foundation was nice, and the brow cream might be good, but I don’t know what’s what there. I might also try more lipsticks, since the formula seems nice enough.

Leave a Reply

