Portland Black Lipstick Company- Now With No Black Lipstick

I decided to make another PBLC order, since I decided I really couldn’t live without Indigo Bridge in my life. One thing that it’s important to note is that the TAT right now is basically “when it gets there.” There isn’t any listed on the site, and I’ve seen people asking when their orders are being shipped out because it seemed like a long time with no communication. Now, I’ve also heard of people requesting to have their stuff flown out faster for events and Kim obliging, but if you’re shy like me, it might be a bit of a wait.

Sample and tube!

Sample and tube! Best of friends!

I ordered a full-size of Indigo Bridge as well as a bunch of samples, since might as well while I’m making an order. The full-size lipsticks come in lip balm tubes, while the samples appear to be slices off a full-size. Depending on the colour, there’s enough for a few applications in there.

Artificial Amethyst on a sassy face.

Artificial Amethyst on a sassy face.

Artificial Amethyst is a metallic red-toned violet. It did apply a bit clumpy, but the brush smoothed it out nicely. I found the wear time to vary greatly depending on what I ate, but it outlasted tea nicely.

Blood Red on a sad face.

Blood Red on a sad face.

Blood Red is a brick red colour. I’d say it’s just a bit too dark to match the colour of blood perfectly, but I might just have weird blood. Again, this one lasted through much tea and some food.

The Coral Is Coming From Inside The House!

The Coral Is Coming From Inside The House!

First off, I wore The Coral Is Coming From Inside The House to a summer-themed party, so that explains what was going on with the rest of my face. And the dress. And the hair. (The Internet said I would have beachy summer waves, but the Internet is a damn dirty liar.)

This was a free sample I got, along with some more of the white Glitz that is sitting in a drawer. It hasn’t been released yet, and the only discussion I’ve seen about it is this Facebook post from 2013. It’s a light, metallic pink with a tinge of orange- I wouldn’t associate it with a true coral. It’s not really my colour as such, but it is nice if you’re into that sort of thing and I didn’t notice any fading over the course of the day.

Gilded Lily on a face.

Gilded Lily on a face.

Gilded Lily is a metallic yellow-gold. It’s not quite as opaque on the lips as it looks in the swatch, though- I really had to glom it on to get it to be a true gold. As well, it does come off pretty easily.

Indigo Bridge on a blue-toned human face.

Indigo Bridge on a blue-toned human face.

Indigo Bridge is still a beautiful metallic royal blue colour. Unfortunately, I’ve noticed a major downside to it. As some of you may be aware because I’m sure I’m thoroughly obnoxious about it, I’m dating someone right now. After a quick kiss while I was wearing this, miraculously, he was wearing it. While blue lipstick on a dude isn’t unattractive in the slightest, I’m sure he would have rather picked his own shade. My new lipstick tester now refers to it as “the blue that comes off.” I still love the colour, but I can’t wear it unless I’m sure I won’t be eating or drinking anything all day, which is kind of a bummer.

 

Pewter Cauldron on this face. Whatever this face is.

Pewter Cauldron on this face. Whatever this face is.

Pewter Cauldron is a blue-toned gray. It’s the colour my lips would be if I was in grayscale, which I think is good. It also lasted for a fairly long time.

So, PBLC. Honestly, I wasn’t really wowed by the wear time of a few of these. Granted, I can just apply them again throughout the day, but it’s still irritating, especially with the samples. That said, the pigmentation is generally pretty good, and I’d still recommend the non-metallic shades freely.

5 thoughts on “Portland Black Lipstick Company- Now With No Black Lipstick

  1. Simone says:

    You’re shy? We must be different kinds of shy. I email about the status of my orders if they take too long and then I avoid my inbox in case of a mean rely .

    • Oh, yeah, I’m weird shy. Like, I’m cool talking about all sorts of sensitive subjects with anyone, but then you ask me to order a pizza and I’m all “but what if i’m bothering them.”

      • Simone says:

        In that case we are the exact same kind of shy. I have no secrets but I will only order pizza online.

Leave a Reply

