Darling Girl- Now With Glitter Glue!

So, the last time I made a Darling Girl order, they were out of glitter glue. I’ve been a longtime fan of Pixie Epoxy, but given recent difficulties with ordering from Fyrinnae, I’ve been looking for an alternative. Thus, when I saw that the Glitter Glue was back in stock, I made an order pretty much instantly, along with some new shadows because I was so impressed with the last ones.

Just a few this time!

Just a few this time!

I ordered a tube of Glitter Glue, four shadows, and a blush. For free, I got a sample in Melancholy and the gift with purchase shadow, Sovereign, as well as a sticker. Can I reiterate how neat the GWP shadow idea is? My main issue is that this week’s doesn’t really appeal to me, so I’ll have to wait, but that isn’t necessarily a bad thing.

Swatch arm! Glitter Glue on the right, NYX Milk in the middle, primer on the right.

Swatch arm! Glitter Glue on the right, NYX Milk in the middle, primer on the right.

So, let’s talk about Glitter Glue, baby. Let’s talk about Epoxy. (Ahem.) I’ve only used it a few times, but I’m already a fan. It comes in a squeezy tube, which means that if I ever use up a primer, I’ll be able to get it all out. As well, it’s a bit more liquidy than Pixie Epoxy, so it doesn’t feel like there’s something on my eyes. I found blending a bit easier, too. Honestly, it’s worth trying, especially if you’re not in the mood to sacrifice your firstborn or whatever you have to do to get a Fyrinnae order nowadays.

Now, on to the shadows. Black Hole Sun is a deep brown with a lot of coppery shimmer. It’s a good deal less pinkish than it looks on the website, or at least it looks less pink compared to all the pink eyeshadows I got in the same order.

Sirena is a mauve with a yellow-green shift and a bit of blue sparkle to it in some lights. It’s one of the Diamond Dust shadows, which I think are all duochromes or something.

Persuasion is another Diamond Dust. It’s a lavender with a gold shift that shows up a lot in direct sunlight.

I may or may not have gotten Ruby Soho solely because of the name, and also because the concept of having too much red eyeshadow escapes me. (If you’re familiar with the original, this is worth a listen. The whole album is great, really.) It’s a bright, true red with the slightest purple shimmer.

More arm swatches!

More arm swatches!

I don’t know what Melancholy is or where it’s from. Google isn’t helping me, so I can only assume it’s a shadow made just for me. (That’s how logic works, right?) It’s a light peachy colour with a pink undertone and a lot of shimmer.

Sovereign was the gift shade. It was a deep red-violet with a coppery shift.

I only realized that Dead Rising was a blush when I looked up the link after swatching. That said, you could totally also use it as an eyeshadow if you were so inclined. It’s a really pigmented lavender blush, with a bit of orangey shimmer. You can’t really see the shimmer when you blend it out, though. This needs a light hand if you’ve got fair skin, as I may have discovered while trying to get a photo for you guys.

Ruby Soho, Black Hole Sun, Persuasion, and Dead Rising blush on my face.

Ruby Soho, Black Hole Sun, Persuasion, and Dead Rising blush on my face.

I’m pretty happy with this order. The Glitter Glue in particular is great, and I fully plan on making another order when the GWP is more to my taste.

Leave a Reply

