Alchimia Apothecary

As those of you who stalk my reddit account may know, I’ve recently been enamoured with a custom perfume from Alchimia Apothecary. It smells exactly like Earl Grey tea, which is an important thing in my life. I didn’t review it because I seriously have no idea what I am talking about with perfumes. So when she launched her new site and she had makeup and a blogger pack, I had to hop on that action.

Packet o' goodies!

Packet o’ goodies!

If you can’t read the note, it’s talking about how she said she would have sent the samples of the full-size lipsticks I ordered for free because she and Ellie from Dreamworld Hermetica agreed they were made for me. I think I am alright with this Indielluminati designing makeup that is just perfect for my needs.

Package contents!

Package contents!

I ordered the blogger pack, which consists of a perfume sample, a lipstick sample, three eyeshadow samples, and a face-care sample, plus two lipsticks in Abyssal and Deadly Nightshade. She added in an eyeshadow sample, a sample of Sparkle Spackle, and a candy. Unfortunately, the lipstick sample got lost at some point- however, she was very apologetic and offered to send one with my next order. Plus the sample I ordered was a normal-person lip colour so I wasn’t that excited about it in the first place.

The perfume sample I got was of Hellixer. Now, as I said above, I am not qualified to talk about perfumes, but this one is interesting. The pepper comes through very strong, and it generally smells warm and incensey and like something I would want to roast pineapple with. (I would not recommend using it to roast pineapple, though- that sounds like a way to die.) As for the face mask, I liked it. It went on nicely, felt like frosting, and made my skin feel good.

Eyeshadow Swatches! Sparkle Spackle on top, NYX Milk in the middle, primer on bottom.

Eyeshadow Swatches! Sparkle Spackle on top, NYX Milk in the middle, primer on bottom.

So, let’s look at this eyeshadow!

Twilight, my free sample, is a deep navy blue. It has a load of shiny sparkles that catch the light really nicely on the eye, which is important to me.

Blue Steel is a light, slightly grayish matte blue. It applies smoothly and evenly, and is quite opaque over primer.

Smoke And Mirrors is a charcoal shadow with some light gray shimmer. Again, it applies really nicely- while I don’t know the science reasons behind the formula, it works.

Untouched is a pearly white with a light sheen to it. Even on my pasty arm, you can see how opaque it goes on, even without primer.

Glitter adhesive testing!

Glitter adhesive testing!

I decided to give the Sparkle Spackle a whirl against other glitter adhesives, since I hadn’t really tested Darling Girl’s Glitter Glue against Pixie Epoxy and it’s my blog where I do what I want. So I used a shadow from each company (Alchimia’s Twilight, Fyrinnae’s Meerkat, and Darling Girl’s Black Hole Sun) to test it out, in case they were made for their own shadows or anything like that.

The Sparkle Spackle was the most liquidy of the lot, followed by Glitter Glue, then Pixie Epoxy with the thickest texture. I was actually kind of surprised that Pixie Epoxy did the least to emphasize duochromes. Even with Meerkat, it left more of a scattered sparkle effect than a “where is the purple this is clearly a gold eyeshadow.” I’d say Sparkle Spackle and Glitter Glue were fairly equal performers, and blending over both is pretty easy.

Abyssal lipstick on my face!

Abyssal lipstick on my face! Please ignore the cat ears.

One of the lipsticks I got was Abyssal because, you know, of course I get a blue one. It’s a bright blue with a good bit of turquoise shimmer. This lipstick stayed on impressively long, which is important with blues. I really liked it- normally shimmery lipsticks go on a bit glittery, but this was nice.

 

Deadly Nightshade. OH MY GOODNESS

Deadly Nightshade. OH MY GOODNESS

I am so happy I got a full-size of Deadly Nightshade because it is brilliant. It’s a deep, smoky purple base with a surprisingly strong green duochrome effect. I don’t know why duochrome lipstick isn’t more of a thing. I want more. It’s the best. I love it. Gyaaah. My baby.

So, uh, yeah. Overall, I was pretty impressed, and I’ll definitely be making another order. (Today there’s a sale on where you get five samples of their new perfumes if you buy three full-size bottles.)

Leave a Reply

