Dawn Eyes Cosmetics

Dawn Eyes Cosmetics was one of the first indie companies I had ever heard of, but for some reason, I had never ordered from them. (Okay, that reason wasn’t too ambiguous- the website looks like it was designed for Netscape Navigator. I was sketched out. I’m shallow like that.) Recently, however, a whole bunch of people posted their orders, and they looked pretty boss, so I got in on that action.

017

I should never be allowed to pick my own colours.

First and foremost, the customer service was fantastic. The shipping price was eight dollars or so, but since she could send them via letter mail, she refunded the rest of the shipping costs. I have literally never had that happen before, and was impressed. Take note, other companies- I totally know what you paid in shipping, and if it’s a quarter of what I paid you, I grumble a bit.

She included two extra samples beside the blogger pack, and they fit in with the colour scheme I unwittingly found myself creating.

Swatches! Pixie Epoxy on top, NYX Milk in the middle, primer on bottom.

Swatches! Pixie Epoxy on top, NYX Milk in the middle, primer on bottom.

Black Chrome is one of the Captivating Colour Chromes, which all appear to have silver sparkles in them. Black Chrome is a black with chrome-ness. The sparkles first look kind of blue, but when you blend it out, they get more silvery.

Empress Verbena is from the Spring Is Here (April Fool’s!) collection, a sentiment that I, as someone who lives somewhere where it only just hit ten degrees, can relate to. It’s a lilac-y purple with a ton of pink glitter. Like, seriously, there is so much glitter in this, it’s unreal. It doesn’t look as glittery on the face, but when I put it on, I seriously thought I was in a Claire’s circa 2003.

Purple Matte is from the matte collection and is a bright purple matte. It is relatively pigmented for a loose matte, but can be a bit streaky if you’re not careful. The mattes also don’t work over Pixie Epoxy, but I tried it anyway since I’m a scientist.

I kind of love Red Chrome (also from the chrome collection.) It’s a bright red with a really strong silver duochrome, which is a colour combination I’ve never really seen before. It’s very flashy, very pigmented, and generally everything I like.

Red Matte (also from the matte collection) is a bright, matte red. If you like pigmented matte reds, this might be for you.

My Little Pony is from the limited edition Cartoon Marathon collection. It comes off as a light carnation pink with a cool silver shift.

More swatches! Pixie Epoxy on top, NYX Milk in the middle, primer on bottom.

More swatches! Pixie Epoxy on top, NYX Milk in the middle, primer on bottom.

Jem is less truly outrageous than I had hoped. It’s a very light baby pink with a bit of blue shimmer. It is more or less accurate to the colour of Jem’s hair, so I really can’t be too upset. I suppose what I really want are Misfits eyeshadows. Someone send me those.

Spearmint Peppermint is an odd colour from the Jewels Of The Season collection. It’s a slightly sheer white that looks greenish, pinkish, or almost gold depending on the light.

Cherish, from the Valentine’s Day collection, is a light champagne. It comes off a bit more gold than silver, and has a lot of shimmer. I promise it shows up. This is why I mostly review glittery blacks.

Refined, from the Timeless collection, is a pearly white. It’s not quite as pigmented as it looks in the swatch, but it’s still a nice highlight.

She-Ra is the most pigmented of the whites I got, which is good because She-Ra is awesome and was way more interesting than He-Man any day. (This is something I will talk about on any occasion.) Like, there’s something to be said about a white that is strong enough that you can even see it on my skin. It’s very shimmery, with gold and pink tones in there.

She-Ra, Red Chrome, and Black Chrome on a face.

She-Ra, Red Chrome, and Black Chrome on a face.

Dawn Eyes Cosmetics is a lot more awesome than one would guess from the website. The eyshadows were generally of good quality- there weren’t really any duds, and the main problem I had was mine in picking all the same colour.

Also notable, until the fifteenth, she’s running a fundraiser to help raise funds for her sister’s surgery. You can pay twenty dollars to have her design an eyeshadow colour for you, which is pretty neat. I’ve already done it, and am pretty excited, although I’m not certain what I’ll do with the many jars. (But, you know, she calls you your sparkle friend, so that’s nice.) If you’ve got a bit of money and have been yearning for a certain colour that you can’t find, this might be the solution. Let me know if any of you do it, and I’ll totally review your colour too!

 

2 thoughts on “Dawn Eyes Cosmetics

Leave a Reply

