Backstreets Makeup Co.

Backstreet’s back, alright.

There, I said it, I’m not going to make any more silly jokes in this review.

Backstreets Makeup Co. Package!

Backstreets Makeup Co. Package!

Backstreets Makeup Co. was on my list to try for a long time. They’re Canadian, and shipping was only five dollars, which is pretty cheap. I mean, I don’t care who you are, where you’re from, what you did, as long as I love your product but cheap shipping is nice.

Package contents!

Package contents!

I ordered a full-size of Lugh’s Chain and a ten-sample pack. While I picked out a few colours I wanted to try, I let the owner pick the rest, because I want it that way. She included three free samples, which was pretty generous.

Swatches! Pixie Epoxy on top, NYX Milk in the middle, primer on bottom.

Swatches! Pixie Epoxy on top, NYX Milk in the middle, primer on bottom.

Flabbergast is a sort of browny mauve with a bright purple sheen. It doesn’t work too well over bare skin, but over any sort of primer it shines quite easily.

I thought I got the reference behind Meatloaf Again but it was actually referencing a show I hadn’t seen, which is presumably referencing Rocky Horror. It’s a darkish sepia with what comes off as a bronze shimmer.

Gingah is a deep tan colour- very similar to gingerbread. It has a slight bit of a sheen, but is otherwise mostly matte over most bases.

Algae is one of my favourites in the group. It’s a cool chocolatey brown with a really strong green-gold shimmer.

Teenage Wasteland is a light rosy gold. It leans a lot more towards the gold than the rose, and is kind of close to my summer arms. Look at my tan.

I am really entranced by Parisian Night Suit. It’s white with what comes off as a bright green duochrome. Over primer or bare skin, it kind of sheers out, leaving just a light greenish glow. If I was looking for a highlighter to wear when I was feeling proper mermaidy, this would be it.

More swatches!

More swatches!

Lugh’s Chain was on sale, so I snatched it up. It’s not the most intense black, and the glitter is a bit more subtle than the swatches indicate, but it’s fairly nice.

Out of all of them, Betty was the one I couldn’t quite meet. Tell me why I can’t be there where you are. There’s something missing in my heart. It’s not in the shop, though, so it’s not a huge deal. It’s a matte peachy colour that’s just a little bit too dark for my skin.

Asset Manager, on the other hand, is lovely. It’s a deep, almost black purple with a subtle coppery shimmer to it. Not quite larger than life, but quite a respectable colour.

Obsidian is like Asset Manager’s cooler cousin. While it’s not quite as dark as Asset Manager, it sort of shifts from a true purple to a dark indigo in the light.

In the bag, Olivine looks black. Joke’s on me, though, as it’s actually quite firmly green, with no hint of black once swatched. Granted, it’s a lovely metallic green, but I keep picking it up expecting black. Quit playing games with my heart, Olivine!

Magnetite is listed as a “mid-pigmented black” that is a lot more pigmented than some supposed full-pigmented black. This is either a fancy marketing technique for less-black blacks or a nice concession to people who aren’t ready to go full black. It has some shimmer, but not an overwhelming amount.

Corcra is a warm lavender with a bright pink shimmer that almost looks gold for some reason. This shade drives me crazy because it’s one of a kind. It goes from almost blue to almost gold and I don’t know how to deal.

In the bag, Corcra and Deoch-An-Dorus looked almost exactly identical. I was thinking that it was a bit odd to send two such similar colours in a sample pack. However, I gave them a chance and they proved me all wrong. Deoch is a lot more blue, with a strong turquoise shift. I found this the hardest to capture, and eventually gave up and took a nap.

Parisian Night Suit, Magnetite, and Lugh's Chain on my face.

Parisian Night Suit, Magnetite, and Lugh’s Chain on my face.

Final verdict- jam on, ’cause Backstreet’s got it. I was actually really surprised by how much I liked these shadows. They were sitting in the drawer for the longest time, and now I’m kind of regretting that. I have a feeling I’ll be wanting another order quite soon.

 

Leave a Reply

