Daily Lovelies!

I had never heard of Daily Lovelies until someone mentioned them as a source for Hello Waffle products. Personally, I’m not big on buying indies not from the source- shipping to Canada is ridiculously costly either way, and you often don’t get the full product range. However, I did some investigating, and found that they had their own line of eyeshadows, including some Sailor Moon ones, and you know how I am.

Pink bubble mailer! Also, forgive the cat coming to investigate.

Pink bubble mailer! Also, forgive the cat coming to investigate.

The packet came in a little pink bubble mailer, with the shadows in a cellophane bag with hearts and French on it. The TAT wasn’t that long, but they sent a little thank you for waiting note anyway.

The items I have!

The items I have!

The shadows come in three sizes- “Fairy” which is a typical clamshell, “Princess,” which appears to be a 5-gram jar, and “Queen,” which I can only assume is a 10-gram jar. I ordered Fairy-sizes of the Sailor Moon collection and the now-unavailable Romeo and Juliet shadows- while it’s my least favourite Shakespearean play, I support Shakespeare makeup. (Shakeup?) For free, I got what seems to be a Princess size of I Solemnly Swear I Am Up To No Good, which is also not available right now.

Wake me up inside!

Wake me up inside!

This is I Solemnly Swear I Am Up To No Good and Mercury Bubble Blast open. I was just impressed that they managed to get close to the exact right amount in a clamshell.

Swatches! Pixie Epoxy on top, NYX Milk in the middle, primer on the bottom.

Swatches! Pixie Epoxy on top, NYX Milk in the middle, primer on the bottom.

Luna Purple is a slightly charcoal base with purple sparkles. An issue I noticed that sort of carries through is that over just primer, these shadows completely fall flat. They’ve got a nice metallic sparkle over Pixie Epoxy, and they’re not too bad over Milk, but over primer, they’re not quite sparkly or pigmented enough to make a splash.

Chibi Moon is a lot pinker than it looks in the jar. It’s got a very subtle gold shimmer that’s kind of hard to catch on the eye.

Mars Fire Ignite is a sort of peachy, almost-coral red with gold shimmer. It’s one of my favourites from the collection, but I don’t think it’s that Sailor Mars-esque.

Jupiter Thunder Crash is a slightly shimmery mint green. The pink sparkles don’t really show up, unfortunately. (Also, a lot of these listings just say that the sailor scout in question “knows how to beat the baddies in style” or something similar, and while that’s not an issue with the product itself, I’m grumpy about it. There is so much to say about Sailor Jupiter besides that she wears heels!)

Moon Tiara Magic is a sheer gold sparkle. It mostly just shows up as glitter, which is kind of sad.

Mercury Bubble Blast! is a baby blue with silvery shimmer. It was one of the most notable differences between Pixie Epoxy and primer, which I found really sad.

Tuxedo’s Rose is a light black base with a pinkish shimmer. This was a standout for me, since it did work relatively well over primer.

Second bit of swatches!

Second bit of swatches!

Montague is sort of a frosty blue-green. It was quite ineffectual over primer.

Capulet is a metallic gold. I tried using Montague and Capulet in the same look, but they didn’t blend together that well. I thought dead teenagers fixed all that. 😦

Star-Crossed Lovers is a purple-blue, with a slight shift in tone. It generally appears to be a medium periwinkle.

I Solemnly Swear I Am Up To No Good is just sorta there. It adds a slightly warmer gold shimmer to my skin, but it’s very sheer, even over Pixie Epoxy.

Artemis Blue is an almost-white blue, which is absolutely lovely over a white base or Pixie Epoxy.

Finally, we have Venus Crescent Beam Smash, which is a slightly shimmery burnt orange. This eyeshadow will apparently allow you to “be as awesome and sexy as the leader of the Sailor Scouts!” but it was fairly lackluster for me.

My face with Tuxedo's Rose, Chibi-Moon, and Mars Fire Ignite.

My face with Tuxedo’s Rose, Chibi-Moon, and Mars Fire Ignite.

So, these eyeshadows get a resounding “ehhhh” from me. Like, they’re perfectly fine over Pixie Epoxy, but often I can’t mess around with that. They also had some issues with blending. They are rather finicky shadows, and generally, I don’t really care enough when there are so many better alternatives with the same result but less fussing about.

Leave a Reply

