Monsta Cosmetics

Monsta Cosmetics is a company that I became aware of solely because one of my friends asked me about their lipsticks, assuming I would already know about anyone who made a blue lipstick. (I wish, then this blog would practically write itself.) I had never heard of them, though, so I considered it my civic duty to pick up a few samples.

Jars of mystery! Or lipstick. One of those.

Jars of mystery! Or lipstick. One of those.

I ordered four lipstick samples in Strict, Scamp, Fiend, and Silence. That’s what I got. I’m not too displeased, since they don’t appear to offer samples of the eyeshadows and, from what I know of makeup science, eyeshadows should have more in their ingredients list than “mica.” These are the only four lipsticks I instantly gravitated towards, since pastels and whatnot are not my speed.

Fiend on my lips.

Fiend on my lips.

Fiend was the most impressive one I got. If I have to wear green lips, dark blue-green seems the way to go. I kinda love the colour. The formula of all these, unfortunately, I found really weird. It felt thick and slick on the lips, almost like a gloss. Fiend, however, ended up blotting down to an almost matte shade without losing much pigmentation.

Scamp on the lips.

Scamp on the lips.

Scamp is a deep blue-gray. It’s the sort of colour my lips would be if I was in a black and white movie. Unfortunately, it’s a lot streakier than Fiend. While I can apply it evenly, it takes a bit of building up.

Strict on the lips.

Strict on the lips.

Strict is a really bright turquoise blue. It has a slightly less glossy finish than the others, and lasts a bit longer. It’s my other favourite in the bunch, although it does tend to fade a bit patchily.

Silence nooooo

Silence nooooo

I thought Silence would be a black lipstick. However, the formula wasn’t quite up to par- it streaked and clumped in weird places and I couldn’t get it to opacity. It wouldn’t stay in place long enough for me to take this picture without some fading on the inside of my lips. This was the biggest disappointment in the order.

So, Monsta Cosmetics. I don’t know if I’d make another order. Even the better of the lipsticks had that weird greasy glossy texture, and the black was surprisingly disappointing. Between that and the sketchy eyeshadows, I’ll probably be going elsewhere for my next order.

Leave a Reply

