Fyrinnae again!

Alright, I know, I was kind of wary about ordering from Fyrinnae again. But they seemed to have turned their act around and have been acting a lot less shady (even communicating with customers, and not saying that people are whiny for wanting the website to work! progress!) so I made another order.

Little package of shinies!

Little package of shinies!

I ordered a bunch of mini eyeshadows and two mini lip lustres. (And yes, I saw the new shiny blue one, and I have ordered a full-size already since the minis are, like, two uses max.) I got a sample jar of Space Age for free.

Eyeshadow swatches- Pixie Epoxy on top, NYX Milk in the middle, primer on the bottom.

Eyeshadow swatches- Pixie Epoxy on top, NYX Milk in the middle, primer on the bottom.

Space Age is a happy surprise. I got it thinking “oh, a mint green, i do not need a mint green.” This is actually a turquoise blue in disguise. Look at that shift. I don’t normally go for greens, but this is lovely.

Now, back to things I thought I need. Dark Fantasy is black base with glitter. The website claims that it has a peach shift, but I’ve not yet seen it. It is a lovely blackened emerald, but if there is a light that makes it peach, I don’t own it.

Sultry Samhain, on the other hand, does have an orangey shift to it. It appears to be a pinky red in most lights, and is just subtly rusty enough to stand out. You know, if you have too many red eyeshadows and want a change.

I got Parental Advisory after seeing swatches from the Brightest Bulb In The Box (she’s great by the way just saying) and I regret very little. It’s a lot bluer than both the website swatch and hers, though, so there may have been some reformulation. That said, it is a kickass colour, even if it doesn’t match up.

More swatches! Same deal with primers. You know, like usual.

More swatches! Same deal with primers. You know, like usual.

Purgatory is a dark cranberry red. It almost glows red. It’s like Sailor Mars hair red. I kind of love it.

Digital Faerie is a bright blue with a green shimmer. If the green was much stronger, it could be Space Age’s evil twin.

Raven’s Prophecy is a glittery black. It’s got silvery-blue shimmer in it. Once again, the peachy-pink is completely invisible. It’s a lot blacker than Dark Fantasy, though, which is nice.

A quick eye look with Sultry Samhain and Purgatory.

A quick eye look with Sultry Samhain and Purgatory.

Overall, Fyrinnae eyeshadows are generally high-quality. The only stipulation is that they sometimes don’t live up to their description, especially the Arcane Magic shadows. These shadows will not change your life. They are, however, generally a pretty good bet if you want a nice eyeshadow.

Glamorous Rebel- lip lustre or job title?

Glamorous Rebel- lip lustre or job title?

Glamorous Rebel is a bright, cool red. It’s just a bit pinkish for me to really fall madly in love with it, but the texture is lovely. It does dry down to semimatte after a while, but generally it’s just creamy.

Winter Romance for a summer romantic.

Winter Romance for a summer romantic.

On the other hand, Winter Romance is just toned down enough for me to want to wear all the time. It has a similar finish. I’m really considering getting this one in full-size, because I do love the colour. My main issue is that none of the lip lustres have that long of a staying time. I am used to reapplication at this point in my wacky-lipstick career, but I still would be a bit hesitant to buy a more conventional colour given my slight misgivings about the formula.

Leave a Reply

