Glamour Doll Eyes again!

Alright, so, full disclosure- I was sent these samples for free because I am great and my blog is great. (I’m sure there’s some other reason, but I recently realized I’ve got more than 100 followers and I am going mad with power. MAD, I TELL YOU.)

Samples in jars because I am hecka fancy.

Samples in jars because I am hecka fancy.

I got to pick out six eyeshadows I wanted to try, and they arrived in nice little jars. I believe these are sample sizes, which works for me because I kind of have too much eyeshadow.

Arm swatches! Left is Pixie Epoxy, middle is over NYX Milk, right is over primer.

Arm swatches! Left is Pixie Epoxy, middle is over NYX Milk, right is over primer.

Junkie is the red one I got because of course I got a red eyeshadow. It’s a darkish cool red with a gentle purple shimmer. In some lights, it almost looks coppery.

S&M is one to not wear around nosy old ladies who ask about your makeup. It’s a deep purple. I fond the bluish sheen and silver sparkle stand out more than any green tones, except over Milk, where you can kind of see the green.

Parlor Tricks is a bright orchid with a load of shimmer. The green undertones are still more apparent over Milk, which I am going to mark down as the result of science.

More swatches! Same bases.

More swatches! Same bases.

Pinch of Pixie is a reflective blue-toned silver. It’s just a bit darker than my skin, and would probably be opaque enough to be good on darker skin tones.

It bothers me on an unusual level that Thoughtless is categorized as a matte. It’s a matte blue base with a light copper sheen that reacts surprisingly well to Pixie Epoxy. A lovely colour, but categorizing it as matte was rather… thoughtless.

Cotton Candy is a bright teal with subtle pink shimmer. I personally always think of cotton candy as a blue thing first anyway, since blue is objectively the better flavour.

Pinch of Pixie, Junkie, and Thoughtless on a face.

Pinch of Pixie, Junkie, and Thoughtless on a face, complete with weird lock of hair that looked like a Jafar goatee in every picture I took.

These are all pretty strong shadows, and they all have subtle shifts in them that set them apart from similar colours. I don’t know if that’s why I picked them, but it’s a neat effect that I appreciate for days when I don’t want to go full duochrome. The pigmentation is fairly strong, and I’m pretty impressed.

Leave a Reply

