Shiny new Shiro!

Those of you who have been avidly following my posting on reddit may recall that I mentioned I was getting a Shiro custom gloss to match the colour of Colonel. I was excitedly squeaking about it a good while back when I ordered it. Unfortunately, it got here and was very sheer with no staying power. I e-mailed Caitlin about it, and she told me that one of the new workers might have messed it up by using pigments instead of dyes. She offered to make it again personally, and I accepted, telling her that she could take her time. The package was in the mail that evening. Fantastic service.

Both packages! (The original also came with candy, but I ate it because this is my blog and I do what I want.)

Both packages! (The original also came with candy, but I ate it because this is my blog and I do what I want.)

My original order was for the gloss and for a jar of Yzma’s Essence of Llama. The new package came with the fancy new gloss and three extra samples, which I thought was a nice gesture. Looking at the gloss tubes, you can totally see the difference in colour, even from this blurry picture. The old one (the one on top) looks like a swampy, murky green, while the new looks like a bright, brilliant blue.

Eyeshadow swatches. Pixie Epoxy on the left, NYX Milk in the middle, primer on the right.

Eyeshadow swatches. Pixie Epoxy on the left, NYX Milk in the middle, primer on the right.

My apologies in advance that I didn’t get a really good swatch of Detrivore’s Endearment. It’s a light mauve that I liked as a contour. Unfortunately, it didn’t show up on my arm with the others.

A Push In The Right Direction is already my next lip gloss plan. It’s a deep black base with a really strong navy shift. I kind of love it.

Azura is from Detrivore as well. It’s a denim blue with a little bit of shimmer. My main complaint about this is that it didn’t play well with just primer.

Yzma’s Essence Of Llama is as gorgeous as other internet swatches look. It shifts completely from a deep eggplant to a bright copper in different lights. I’m glad I managed to get it before it sold out.

Honestly, Ganondorf and War of Five Armies are quite similar. Caitlin clearly thought I needed more reddish-browns. Ganondorf is a bit browner and less sparkly, but they’re close enough that I had to check three times to make sure I had them labelled right. They’re both lovely, but I’m not sure I need both.

Colonel gloss, Endearment blush, Azura, Yzma's Essence of Llama, and A Push In The Right Direction, all on a face.

Colonel gloss, Endearment blush, Azura, Yzma’s Essence of Llama, and A Push In The Right Direction, all on a face.

I’ve already discussed how much I like the opaque Shiro gloss formula, but I do like it. It’s like a liquid lipstick, and it dries down and lasts. It isn’t sticky at all, which I need because even when my hair is up, tendrils drift around my face to stick in anything even mildly adhesive. I also got this one flavoured like spearmint, which added a nice tingle.

The colour is a bit lighter and greenier than the Colonel shadow, but where Colonel isn’t actually lip-safe and it had to be replaced with pigments that wouldn’t actually kill me, it’s not too far off. The gold shimmer is pretty strong. I think I’m starting to get a hang of what glossifying will do to shadows in terms of the colour, which is exciting.

And yes, I’m going to make another order.

3 thoughts on “Shiny new Shiro!

Leave a Reply

