Dreamworld Hermetica swatches!

Alright, so this is a long-overdue review. Ellie from Dreamworld Hermetica sent me a bunch of stuff to review in the summer, and I’m only just now getting around to posting it. I was waiting until she put the eyeshadows back up on her site after reformulating some of them, and then I forgot and took a bunch of naps. This one is pretty picture-heavy, so if you’re on a slow connection, it might be time to get up and make some tea while it loads.

A bunch of things!

A bunch of things!

The package included a bunch of eyeshadows, a few Lip Chromes, some Lip Wands, and a bunch of foundation samples she picked out for me.

Unfortunately, it was so warm here. Really, really warm. The package sat in a hot metal mailbox for a day or so, which appears to have had an adverse effect on the lip chromes in particular. So in case you were thinking of buying these, then leaving them outside in a metal box when it is coming up on 40 degrees outside, that is probably not your best plan. Sorry to ruin your dreams. The lip chromes did recover a bit when placed in the fridge, but they were still a lot sheerer than the ones I got previously.

Foundation swatches!

Foundation swatches!

First off, the foundation. I’ve personally been really satisfied by the samples- I’ve been using them pretty much every day, since it’s a pretty great formula. I swatched them on my arm over NYX Black Bean, since I don’t really have any severe blemishes on my arm to cover up. Here’s some close-up pictures!

It's my arm!

It’s my arm!

More arm!

More arm!

I got 99 problems but an arm ain't one.

I got 99 problems but an arm ain’t one.

Most of these were the Luna formulation, which is working out pretty well for me. I did get one sample of Vapor and didn’t notice that much of a difference.

I’m not going to describe each colour, since most of it is “vaguely my-face colour” which is absolutely no help if you’re not me. Ellie is super nice, though, and if you e-mail her she’ll suggest shades that will work for your face.

Swatches on my face!

Swatches on my face!

Sorry I was kinda sunburned at the time. That happens in the summer.

Sorry I was kinda sunburned at the time. That happens in the summer.

I also swatched them on my face, but I was kind of burned at the time, so the swatches aren’t that accurate to my actual face. I’ve found Juno II or Tiamet I to be a pretty good match, although we’ll see if I pale up a bit more in the winter. I’m definitely going to get a full-size, since these foundations are pretty fantastic. They seem to have a really wide colour range- while I’m not sure exactly how dark they go, it’s definitely worth asking if you’re on that end of the spectrum, since they have such a wide array of undertones.

Eyeshadow swatches over Pixie Epoxy, NYX Milk, and primer.

Eyeshadow swatches over Pixie Epoxy, NYX Milk, and primer.

Now, on to the eyeshadows! All the eyeshadows are on their collection pages, so I’ll just be linking to the page the first time the collection comes up.

Shadow Wing, from the Queens of the Night collection, is a bright magenta with a pinkish sheen.

At Grave’s End is from the Night Huntress collection. It’s a deep purple with a slight pearly sort of texture. This was one of my favourites- in certain lights it seems to glow subtly.

First Drop Of Crimson, also from Night Huntress, is a cool red with a bunch of shimmer in there.

Risky, also from Queens of the Night, is a semimatte orangey red.

004Magic Slays from the Kate Daniels collection is a light periwinkle with an almost frosty finish. For some reason, I keep thinking it has gold shimmer, but it really doesn’t.

Magic Bites, which is from the same collection, is a bright purple-blue with purply shimmer. It’s another of my favourites from this order.

2×2 is from the You Can’t Take The Sky From Me collection. It’s a bright shimmery turquoise.

Soar, which is also from the Firefly collection, is a tawny brown with a strong green duochrome.

007Dearg Due is another one that I’m really loving. (You might have sensed a pattern here.) It’s a deep, dark purple with a really strong shimmer. When it’s blended out, it looks really neat and smokey. Like the rest of the Medieval collection, it’s a semi-loose shadow, which I quite like.

Fear is also from You Can’t Take The Sky From Me. It’s a gray-ish purplish blue with a touch of shimmer.

Browncoats, from the same collection, is a shimmery bronze with light copper tones.

Finally, we have Memories, which is also from You Can’t Take The Sky From Me. It’s a really weird one, which I kind of love. It’s a silvery base, and in different lights, it looks green, blue, or purple. Weird. Eerie. Fun.

Abyss Lip Chrome.

Abyss Lip Chrome.

And we’re on to the lip stuff! The Lip Chromes are basically lip glosses in most important ways. Again, these ones messed up in the heat, and now they’re kind of lumpy, so check your mail often if you are in a hot place.

Abyss is the black one because of course I got the black one. It was pretty opaque, even after it was melted down and reconstituted.

Blood Oath lip chrome.

Blood Oath lip chrome.

Blood Oath is a sort of metallic cool red. It was also a pretty solid colour.

Forest lip chrome.

Forest lip chrome.

Unfortunately, Forest was pretty much unsalvageable. It was sheer enough that I couldn’t get the colour shown without it dripping down my chin. As “zombie drool” isn’t exactly my aesthetic, I ended up chucking it. However, I do love the emerald green colour.

Slimer Lip Wand.

Slimer Lip Wand.

The Magick Lip Wands are like liquid lipsticks, although they do have a bit of a glossy finish. They have a nice staying time- certainly longer than most glosses and a good few lipsticks I own. I do think the swatches for some of them on the site are a bit off in colour, and they often seem sheerer than they are for me.

Slimer is a colour I probably should not wear. It’s a bright apple green. It is, however, pigmented enough to hide the fact that I have a natural lip colour, which is what I ask from a green lip product.

Summer Solstice lip wand.

Summer Solstice lip wand.

Summer Solstice is an orangey coral. It’s probably the most normal colour I got, and I think it looks pretty okay. It’s a bit sheer, but not enough that it looks weird.

Sea Fairey Lip Wand.

Sea Fairey Lip Wand.

Sea Fairey is the blue one because of course I got the blue one. It’s a bright turquoise that’s pleasingly opaque.

Blood Oath lip wand.

Blood Oath lip wand.

I got Blood Oath in lip wand form too, and I really prefer it. It’s a bit more opaque, and it stays in place longer.

I look like death warmed over.

I look like death warmed over.

Death Warmed Over looks a lot different in the site swatch- it looks a good deal darker. That said, I kind of love this lightish lavender colour on my lips when I’m in a sexy-zombie mood.

Overall, I’m pretty happy, and I’m definitely going to make another order. The lip glosses were a bit of a disappointment, but that is definitely because of the freakish heat wave we had and isn’t the fault of the company.

 

2 thoughts on “Dreamworld Hermetica swatches!

Leave a Reply

