MeNow Liquid Lipsticks

Alright, friends! For the first time in ages, I’m reviewing something that’s not indie. It’s, like, the opposite of indie. The MeNow liquid lipsticks are mass-produced and sold on eBay for a dollar. I had five bucks in my Paypal when I heard about them, and there’s not much you can get for five dollars when indies cost, like, eight to ship to Canada, so I picked up four of them. And at my new job, I’ve been working pretty much every day, so I’ve had to wear normal lip colours a lot.

Tubes of lipsticks!

Tubes of lipsticks!

I picked up two kinda kooky colours and two colours that human lips could conceivably be. One thing to note is that these can take forever to ship. The max travel time is something like 40 business days to get from China to my house, so that’s a total of eight weeks with no way to speed it up.

Doe foot.

Doe foot.

They have a pretty standard doe-foot applicator. One thing I found is that they tended to have a bit too much on the end of the applicator to do my lips, so I had to wipe a bit off.

I should take this break to note that I have no idea how safe these are. Like any other nameless Chinese cosmetic, it’s really a crapshoot. I have worn them off and on for the past two weeks, and my lips haven’t fallen off or anything, but if you’re worried, they might be worth a miss, since there aren’t ingredient listings on the tube or the eBay listing I got them from.

18 on my lips.

18 on my lips.

18 (I’m not used to dealing with colours without names. It’s weird.) is a nude. It’s pretty much the exact colour of my actual lips, but a bit darker. I think it’s alright. It felt a bit less drying than the others, but I’d still recommend a balm underneath. All of these dried kind of thick, and if I put too much colour on, felt kinda like dried acrylic on my skin. They did generally dry down pretty quickly- definitely within the first minute- but they also stayed a bit tacky in their final state.

30 on my lips.

30 on my lips.

30 is kind of more of a browny nude. It’s got a few pink tones to it, but overall, it was pretty heavily brown. I thought it was a bit less traditionally flattering on me, but still not too horrible. This one had a similar texture to 18.

22 on my lips.

22 on my lips.

PINK. 22 is aggressively fuchsia. It was the most troublesome of the colours- if I put on enough to be opaque without streaking, it refused to dry down at all. It transferred all over my tea mug and I was sad. It also had a sort of weird sweet scent, where the others were kinda unscented.

33 on my lips.

33 on my lips.

33 is the darkest colour they offer. It’s a lot closer to the arm swatch in colour- I still hadn’t figured out where to take selfies in the new shop. I personally like the colour, but this also requires a careful hand to not streak up. It does lend itself a lot more to layering for some reason, though. Again, this is quite drying.

Now, let’s talk longevity. I did the arm swatches, and let them dry for five minutes. I then wiped at them. Nothing. I washed them with no water. Nothing happened. I got out my cleansing oil and scrubbed.

Post cleansing oil and scrub brush.

Post cleansing oil and scrub brush.

These things stay on like nobody’s business.

So, are they worth it? For a buck, eh, sure. Different colours have different properties, and they feel kinda thick and drying. They last a while, though, and if you want a nude-ish colour, most listings will have, like twenty. There are some issues with the ingredients, so if you have allergies you might want to skip them, but they’re not too bad.

2 thoughts on “MeNow Liquid Lipsticks

  1. These look beautiful! I think that they are pretty great considering they were only 1$. I would put so much lip balm underneath them if they are that drying!

    • Yeah, I’m not really regretting the dollar. Usually I try to review lip stuff without, both because often lip balm often messes with a product’s longevity and because people should know if they’re drying. The balm really does help, though.

Leave a Reply

