Fyrinnae’s Lipsticks

Because of course I got some samples of Fyrinnae’s lipsticks. They have a blue one, guys. Come on.

Package contents. Not pictured, pretty holo business cards.

Package contents. Not pictured, pretty holo business cards.

I ordered a full-size lip lustre in Ominous, two lipstick samples, and two eyeshadow minis. They sent me another lipstick sample as a freebie, which was cool.

Eyeshadow swatches! Left photo is in direct light, right is in indirect. Swatches are on Pixie Epoxy on the left, NYX Milk in the center, and primer on the right.

Eyeshadow swatches! Left photo is in direct light, right is in indirect. Swatches are on Pixie Epoxy on the left, NYX Milk in the center, and primer on the right.

The two samples I ordered were of their new shadows at the time.

Istanbul is described as a mix of blues and golds that meld into a denim blue. It is indeed pretty denimy, but most of the gold was lost on me- aside from a few stray sparkles, it looks more like a gunmetal silver-toned blue to me. Weird. Eerie.

Birb Of Paradise also weirded me out, but it was because it really didn’t play well with the Pixie Epoxy at all. While the chocolate base is visible, even over primer, the blue duochrome dominates. It’s a really pretty shade no matter what I do with it, which I appreciate, since I’m way too lazy in the mornings to use Pixie Epoxy.

Ominous Lip Lustre on my face.

Ominous Lip Lustre on my face.

I actually think I meant to get Burrowing Owl instead of Ominous but whatever. I like Ominous a lot. On my arm, it’s sort of a dark browny mauve, but on the lips it looks more like a grayed-out lavender. It’s kinda subtle, but not really that subtle at all, which is what I’m going for in life. It fades pretty evenly, as well, which is important given that I like to eat things and drink tea.

Misfit on my face.

Misfit on my face.

The lipsticks were a pretty stiff formula- I got the best swatches I could from the sample jars, but I had to use my finger. Misfit actually detached from the base of the jar in trying to get a swatch with the brush. It’s a metallic cool purple- kinda neat. Not the sort of thing I usually go for, but a fun thing to play with. (Side note- when I was wearing this was quite possibly the first time my fellow complimented my lipstick. So, you know, if you’re looking to steal my boyfriend, this might be the lipstick for you. Please don’t do that, though.)

Witchcraft on my face.

Witchcraft on my face.

Ehhhhhh. Ehhhhhhhhhhhhhhh. This was my big disappointment. The swatch photo of Witchcraft is described as heavily applied, but this was as heavy as I could get it, and there’s little to no colour change at all. It’s a nice tame reddish-pink, which is good, but not really what I was going for, and certainly not close to the photo.

Space Western on my face.

Space Western on my face.

As much as Witchcraft was a bust, Space Western was a success in my books. It’s actually almost a close dupe for Illamasqua’s Disciple, which I’ve just used up a sample someone sent to me of. I was worried I’d have to spend 23 dollars plus shipping on a lipstick, but now this is not the case. It’s a straight-up semimatte navy blue. This one, I’ve worn a few times, and it lasts pretty impressively. I’m definitely getting a full-size of this one.

Overall, I’m pretty okay with the situation. I’m really sad about Witchcraft, since I really couldn’t build it up enough to get any sort of shift. Everything else was cool, though, and since you can get samples of the lipsticks I’m alright with spending just the dollar fifty.

6 thoughts on “Fyrinnae’s Lipsticks

  1. Jaiden.nemesis says:

    Interesting, for me Ominous looks more grey-ish on the arm, but on my lips its almost a bright(?!) lavender. I wonder if its because I have naturally deep pink lips. You’ve also (almost) convinced me to make yet another Fyrinnae order soon! >< Also, if you like Illamasqua things they usually have sales (Like crazy up to 70% sales) twice a year, and their Fall sale should be coming up really soon, just keep checking back on their website. =D

    • Yeah, Ominous is a weird one! I found it looked different in the tube, on my arm, and on my lips- but it is a bit lighter on my lips as well, which is odd because my lips are darker than my arm.

      With Illamasqua, I’m just grumpy because with the Canadian dollar the way it is, the lipstick would apparently cost me 41 dollars plus 9 in shipping, which is Too Much for me right now.

Leave a Reply

