I Got A Rituel De Fille Sample Pack

Like, the minute they were announced. I had heard really super good things about the company, but the high prices were dissuading me. I really didn’t want to spend 23 dollars (that is 33 Canadian dollars right now) on a lipstick that I didn’t even know if it would work for me. Samples are one of the main reasons I got into indies. When you’ve got not too much money and live in an area where makeup stores are few and far between (until this July we just had drug stores) you don’t want to blow it all on something you can’t try first. So, kudos to Rituel de Fille for finally offering sample packs.

Package contents

Package contents

However. Let’s talk about the elephant in the room, eh?

Actual package contents in the massive box they sent.

Actual package contents in the massive box they sent.

Like, this is kinda ridiculous. I get that Rituel de Fille puts themselves forward as an upscale indie brand, but on the other hand, we don’t need to spend 12 US dollars on shipping. Even if they had popped the nice black box in a bubble mailer with the cards, that’s usually around eight dollars. It looks nice, but, you know, even the little black sample box they sent along (which was less than a quarter full of actual samples) filled up less than a third of the shipping box.

Ample samples?

Ample samples?

And the other bit is, of course, how much sample there was in each clamshell. Now, when the Americans all got their packages, I saw some really interesting discussions going on about entitlement in the indie community and how people just expect these massive samples. As someone who buys but doesn’t sell, I don’t have too much of a horse in that race. They do have enough for 2 uses each, which is what is advertised. However, this is something to keep in mind if you’re used to other indies.

Swatches! Eyeshadow is over Pixie Epoxy, the cheap version of NYX Milk, and primer, right to left.

Swatches! Eyeshadow is over Pixie Epoxy, the cheap version of NYX Milk, and primer, right to left.

And speaking of being used to things, I discovered the downside of this two-use sample size. Namely, that I couldn’t actually really get it to work. The Eye Soot eyeshadows are more like a weird cream-to-powder-ish formula than one or the other. There’s some guides on the website on how to use them, but they generally consist of “have you tried putting them on your face? maybe use a brush?”

I couldn’t get Obsidian to look like a good black for the life of me. It didn’t play well with any sticky base, and it got an odd crumbly texture when I used any kind of brush to apply it (shown here.) It looked kind of okay-ish when I used my finger, but even then, it was still pretty much a sub-par black. (Plus I’ve got massive sausage fingers, and I couldn’t really get much more finesse than 2006-era Gerard Way when it came to actual application. There are some times when that’s not what I want from my eye makeup. They’re rare, but they happen.) If I had spent 27 dollars (that is almost 40 Canadian dollars) on a full-size of this, I’d have been really disappointed.

 Viscera was a bit easier to work with. I found it had a bit better colour payoff and worked a bit better with primers I owned. I could also use a brush with it. However, it was still enough of a nuisance that I can’t see myself reaching for it if I had the full size. Especially in the indie world, where, if you want a metallic red eyeshadow, they are pretty much a dime a dozen- without the learning curve of whatever’s going on here. Plus I found that no matter what I did, neither of the Eye Soots would really blend that well. I used up my samples, and honestly, I’m probably not going to go back for a full size of either.

Strange Creature on the lips. Also check my horrible attempt at blending. I worked on that for like twenty minutes so you have to compliment it.

Strange Creature on the lips. Also check my horrible attempt at blending the eye soots. I worked on that for like twenty minutes so you have to compliment it.

So let’s get to the lipsticks- the real reason I made this order. I honestly really liked Strange Creature. It’s a cool taupey gray, useful for when I want to look like a dead thing. I’d definitely consider picking up a full-size of this guy.

Chrysalis on the lips. An attempt at liner with the eye soots. (Not pictured- it getting everywhere and me cussing.)

Chrysalis on the lips. An attempt at liner with the eye soots. (Not pictured- it getting everywhere and me cussing.)

Okay, so I kind of like Chrysalis in theory. It’s a really neat olive green, with a touch of shimmer in there. However, I was having some issues with it. It was really hard to get it opaque with a brush. While I’m sure that’s the sort of thing that’s fixed by applying from the bullet, I was still having a lot of problems. As well, it wore the most noticeably of the three lip samples I got, so pretty much any time I ate or drank or kissed anyone or anything, I had to go fuss with it some more. I’m sure it’s lovely, but I really wasn’t convinced.

Shadow Self on the lips.

Shadow Self on the lips. Some other eyeshadow on.

All together, now, “Bobbie’s Favorite Is The Blue One, what a surprise.” Shadow Self is a shimmery purplish-blue.  It was also a bit sheer, but it was easier to manage than Chrysalis. I’m considering this one being the one I use my 10 dollar code on, if I use it at all. (That shipping, man, absolutely killer.) Longevity-wise, it lasted less long than Strange Creature but longer than Chrysalis. It also lasted about half the time of KVD’s Poe, which isn’t a full dupe but is close enough that I don’t really need this guy. Plus Poe is cheaper and I don’t have to pay shipping.

So, final thoughts? Ehhhhh. I’d definitely say it’s not really worth it for me, especially once shipping is factored in. The Eye Soots were a complete bust- either they didn’t work for me or I didn’t have enough product to figure them out. And the lipsticks- well, they were alright. They’re pretty good lipsticks. But not, like, overwhelmingly good lipsticks, especially at the price point. There are a load of other indie lipsticks that are priced at 7-13 dollars that I’d consider equivalent. Plus the shipping took ages and so now I’ve only got two weeks to decide if I want to use my code.

I’m not going to tell you not to buy Rituel de Fille- if I had a bit more cash to spend, I’d definitely go back for sure. But at this point in my life, I’m probably not going to.

3 thoughts on “I Got A Rituel De Fille Sample Pack

  1. Emma Crew says:

    Holy crap. They could have stuck those clamshells in a plain envelope and paid like $2. I’ve seen absurd packaging in my day, but egad.

      • Emma Crew says:

        Especially since it takes the effective sample price from $.5/use to $1.5/use (assuming you get two uses out of each and use the $10 code to recoup some of the cost). “Hey, guys, this eye look alone cost THREE BUCKS!”

Leave a Reply

