February (and final?) MBA Perfect Fix Beauty Bag

Whoof. I’ve been working on a big post that needs a bunch of time, so something more is coming. Before I get started on this month’s unboxing, I’d like to mention that Jaiden from the comments pointed out that maquillage_savant on Instagram put up a bunch of photos that indicate that My Beauty Addiction is quite possibly repackaging on shadows they claim are their own creations. On repackaging, personally, I’m cool with it (have you seen what TKB charges to ship to Canada, holy crap) as long as you’re open about it. MBA has a bunch of shadows that they claim are the basic micas, and others with nothing on them, which leads you to believe that the others are their own blends. I knew a lot of the stuff on there was private label, but I thought I’d mention it in case that’s your sticking point.

Package contents!

Package contents!

This month came with two pressed glitters, a pressed shadow, a liquid eyeliner, and an LA Girl “Matte Flat Finish Pigment Gloss.” Which is a liquid lipstick. The contents add up to 28.75 US, which is less than the new international shipping rate would make the subscription cost.

I thought the glitters were a weird choice to include. They say on the back of the pans that they need glitter glue to stick on. I, being an Internet Makeup Guru, own several forms of glitter glue, but I assume not everyone does. They are in flimsy plastic packaging that won’t stay closed. While I own a magnetic palette, I kind of don’t want to stick them in there because, you know, glitter gets all over everything. They also say pretty clearly in the listing that it’s not approved for cosmetic use by the FDA. While I am a punk who lives on the edge, a lot of other people might not be down with this glitter. For anyone who is swayed by any of these factors, the value of the bag drops to 16.75 US.

Swatches! Lipstick and eyeliner on bare skin, glitters on glitter glue. 24 Karat swatched over pixie epoxy on the left, a white base in the middle, and primer on the right.

Swatches! Lipstick and eyeliner on bare skin, glitters on glitter glue. 24 Karat swatched over pixie epoxy on the left, a white base in the middle, and primer on the right.

The Matte Flat Finish Pigment Gloss is actually a liquid to matte lipstick, as I mentioned above. There’s no glossiness whatsoever. Frisky is a bright cool red that kind of makes me think of those wax lips you used to be able to get.

The Eyeliner is a black liquid eyeliner. If you have tried any cheap black liquid eyeliners, you have functionally tried this one. Of the many cheap black liquid eyeliners I have tried, I think it’s closest to the NYC brand one. I found it needed to be dunked in the tube a lot more than my current favorite cheap black liquid eyeliner., and it was harder to get a steady line. It tended to sheer out a little bit as well if I wasn’t careful. As well, it’s got the tiny brush, which I find hard to manipulate compared to my current favorite cheap black liquid liner (the Essence brand.) It says it’s waterproof, but it came off pretty easy in the shower. If you only have six dollars plus shipping to your name and need a black liquid liner, this certainly is one- however, you can almost definitely get a better one at your local drug store.

Of these bags, the pressed shadows are consistently what I’m most impressed by. 24 Karat is a warm-toned metallic gold. It applies about the same over every base I threw it at, and doesn’t look too bad over bare skin either.

Speaking of looking bad over bare skin… the glitters say on their listing that the binders will make them stick to skin but a glitter glue will REALLY help them shine! This translates to “yeah, if you want to be wearing this on your face and not on your shirt within like three seconds, get you some glitter glue.” Reign Of The Dragon is a cool gold. Peacock is a mix of green and blue that looks kind of purply in the shadows.

Also I dyed my hair. Lips are Frisky with Reign of the Dragon glitter patted over it. Eyes are 24 Karat, Peacock, and the eyeliner.

Also I dyed my hair. Lips are Frisky with Reign of the Dragon glitter patted over it. Eyes are 24 Karat, Peacock, and the eyeliner. Eyebrows were filled in with the clear brow gel I got last month and I put Reign Of The Dragon on those guys too.

You may ask, “Where does the average person wear glitter?” Luckily, I got this package a few days before I was scheduled to call bingo for charity, and I always dress up in the glitter and sequins for bingo. The glitters were… glitter. Like, the particles felt a bit big for cosmetic glitter, but I’m no expert on that. The pressing was weird. I found there was no real threshold between not pushing my brush into the glitter enough to pick any up and pushing it in too far so it dug a little hole. If I led the type of life where I wore this all the time, I can only imagine these would last a few weeks at best, just because of all the wasted product. It also made my eyes a bit itchy. You should probably not put this on your eyes. I found it hard to build up on my eyebrows, but that could be because brow gel is not actually a glitter glue.

I got a lot of compliments on my lipstick. It felt really gritty, possibly because I had glitter in it.

You can also wear the lipstick without glitter. Eyes are 24 Karat and a purple shadow from an old Sleek palette under the eyeliner. Lips are Frisky.

You can also wear the lipstick without glitter. Eyes are 24 Karat and a purple shadow from an old Sleek palette under the eyeliner. Lips are Frisky.

I did find Frisky to have a super long staying time. It’s definitely more on the “feels like acrylic paint” side of the liquid lipstick scale. It could definitely be a bit drying, and even with my makeup remover, it takes some scrubbing to get off. It dried down pretty quickly.

So, MBA. I’m more underwhelmed with the company now than I was when I started. Out of the bags I got, there’s, like, five products that I’m planning on using regularly. There’s huge problems with curation- in the months I was subscribed, I had one bag with no real connection between the products, one with two neon pink lipsticks, and one with two pressed cosmetic glitters. It’s a pity, since I do like the MBA lipsticks, but I probably wouldn’t continue this even if they weren’t raising the shipping rates. (Also, if anyone knows of another indie subscription box, let me know!)

2 thoughts on “February (and final?) MBA Perfect Fix Beauty Bag

  1. Jaiden.nemesis says:

    I know Hello Waffle has a sub box called the Visage Box or something like that but they charge USD for some reason despite being based in Canada, and I know the Canadian dollar dropped quite a bit so I’m not sure if 30USD per month is worth your money… That’s unfortunately the only indie sub box that I know of though, so I guess you can always take a look as looking doesn’t hurt! ^^

Leave a Reply

