My Pretty Zombie Blushes And Junk

Okay, so disclaimer, I actually don’t know how to use blush. Like, at all. I’m awful. I go like “haha I don’t use blush because I’m too goth!” but really I just mess it up every time. It’s partially because I’m kinda pasty, partially because of no practice, and partially because until relatively recently I was using a repurposed eyeshadow brush to apply it. But I was like “ehhh time to learn I guess if I’m gonna be a legit makeup blogger” so here I am with a bunch of MPZ samples to figure out what I like.

Package contents!

Package contents!

I ordered samples of the new contour set, five blush samples, and a full-size green correcting powder because when I ordered, I forgot that I wanted the lavender one. As free samples, I got three eyeshadows and one blush, as well as a finger. Soon I’ll have a whole hand, it’ll be rad.

About the green powder- I have been using it pretty steadily. I think I have it on for all of the following looks. It is a good powder. Doesn’t really colour correct too heavily, but it works as a powder.

Eyeshadow swatches. Over Pixie Epoxy on the left, NYX Milk in the middle, and primer on the right.

Eyeshadow swatches. Over Pixie Epoxy on the left, NYX Milk in the middle, and primer on the right.

Demons Are My Bitches (CUSSING!) is from the Charnal House Splendors collection, but you can totally buy it separately. And I would, it’s so pretty. It’s a slightly sheer white with a subtle pinkish shimmer. I’ve started using it, like, all the time and I’m probably going to run out.

Hoof And Mouth is another collection shadow, this one from the Husbandry Affliction set. It’s a mid-toned purple with a silvery blue shift. It’s another lovely one, but not one I personally need to own right now, you know?

Black Eye is a single shadow. It advertises itself as a red with a purple tinge that makes it look like you took a punch.  Now, all the punches I’ve taken have turned a lot more blue, but I think that’s a skin tone difference. It’s a nice cool burgundy with a weensy bit of shimmer. If I tried and messed with this and New Bruise, I could probably make a pretty decent black eye look.

Blushes, swatched heavily.

Blushes, swatched heavily.

The rest of the blushes, swatched heavily.

The rest of the blushes, swatched heavily.

I got a rainbow of blushes, guys. I’ve been more and more inspired by the Misfits from Jem and the Holograms, I guess.

Pancakes! and Do NOT Sit Next To Dennis on a face.

Pancakes! and Do NOT Sit Next To Dennis on a face.

I tried out the new contour and highlight kit together because I am not adept enough for strobing yet. As far as I can tell, you can only get them in a set together.

Pancakes! was fun. I think I like highlighting. It’s a white highlighter, and it seemed kind of opaque, so if you’ve got a darker skin tone than I do, it’ll probably look a lot more dramatic. The shimmer came off as kind of blueish, but I’m not sure if that’s because of the contour being blended into it.

Do NOT Sit Next To Dennis was a bit less my speed. It’s a cool medium gray. I kind of liked it, but without a lot of work on blending and things, it just kind of comes out as a five o’clock shadow effect on me. It comes off pretty dark at the outset, which is an issue when your blush strategy is “make a stripe on your cheek and deal with the problem later.”

I might not get the duo, because Dennis was a lot of work to deal with. But I did find out that highlighters are a fun time, so that’s a start.

Benzodiazepine on a face.

Benzodiazepine on a face. New Bruise and Demons Are My Bitches on the eyes.

Benzodiazepine was my free sample of blush, because I was so scared of it when I saw the product photo. Not only would I have to learn to spell Benzodiazepine, I’d have to put that super dark red on my face. Normal blushes often end up looking kind of overwhelming on me, so what would that look like?

Surprisingly, not as bad as I thought. I kinda liked it. It’s a lot more cool toned than it looks in the swatch photo in the listing, and it blends out really easily. It gives me a bit of a sunburned look, but it’s still kinda neat. Plus I can wear it, like, out and around, without people wondering if I’m choking.

Tramadol on a face.

Tramadol on a face.

Tramadol is even subtler. Look at me, looking like an almost normal person with circulation and stuff. It looks pretty orange in the swatch, but blends out to a shimmery corally pink.  This is the most normal of the blushes I got, and one of the most effortless.

Fluoxetine on a face.

Fluoxetine on a face.

I don’t know how I feel about Fluoxetine, hence the intense emoting in the selfies. First off, in the listing, it says it has a blue shift. This is a lie, at least practically. I found it had a blue shift when it was patted on over Pixie Epoxy- however, I’m not doing that with my blushes. Although I could. So we have a yellow blush. This was another one that it was pretty easy to make super subtle once I got the hang of it. (Before I did, my partner made a comment about my looking like I was on the Simpsons. It was a bad scene.) And once I blended it out, I thought “sheesh, I just look kinda weird, now.” But in the photos, I love it. One to save for staying at home in no pants days, I guess.

I got the blue one. Oxycodone on my face.

I got the blue one. Oxycodone on my face.

Oxycodone is another hard one to blend out. On the left side of my face (your right) I put it on and blended it out like normal. It’s blue, guys. Like, aggressively blue. I’ve got a few blue blushes, and they all turn purply, but this is just blue and it’s cool. On the right side (your left) I patted some foundation on to make it less blue. It turned out sorta subtler and more warm-toned, but it’s still definitely blue. This is a pigmented blush for sure- it was one of the darker ones I got. It’s kind of hard to work with for me, but it’s definitely fun, and I feel like a blue blush has to be pretty pigmented to stay on.

Morphine on my face.

Morphine on my face.

I found Morphine to be a lot more suiting of a contour for me than Dennis was. It was a lot more buildable and a bit more purple-toned, so I  think it avoided the stubbly look. I really like this, and if the contour duo had a choice of this instead of Dennis, I’d buy it in a heartbeat. It also had some purple glitter in it, and you know how I am about purple glitter.

LSD on my face.

LSD on my face.

LSD was a challenge in a different direction- namely, it was super difficult to get it to show up in photos. And when it did, it was blurry. It’s a really light grayed-out purple. Again, no real functional shift for me over my bare skin. I have one or two lavender blushes from Korean brands, and this is about the same level of depth.

So, these blushes seem good! Like, I’m not really a blush lady. I’m not known for wearing colour on my cheeks as well. But they stayed put all day, which I’ve heard is an issue. A few of them didn’t work out for me colour-wise, but that’s probably what happens when you order an actual rainbow. I’m going to keep experimenting with them before making another order, but I’m probably going to see about getting one or two of these guys in full-size.

3 thoughts on “My Pretty Zombie Blushes And Junk

  1. I’m the same with blush. I’m pale and have a difficult time choosing blush colours. I’ve tried to apply it a few times and it doesn’t look good. I may bust out my collection and try again.

  2. Emma Crew says:

    Some of these are pretty fun. I don’t think I could pull off blue blush, sadly, but Tramadol has been on my list.

    My estimation is that part of your blush issue is that you’ve got the color too low unless you’re going for a contour look, see if you’re happier with it a bit higher?

Leave a Reply

